You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-09 16:15:28

ix

Make me an Arch-poweruser (& help me get rid of vista).

Greetings!

I like my Arch, but it gives me a lot of warnings and does some crashing too!
It wasn't always like this. Probably my own fault for updating without thinking...

So my request is this: I'll post whatever logs and information about my case and the community helps me to gain skills and hopefully someone else finds this thread useful too.

This Arch install has never been complete (no auto mount, no auto dhcp,...). And it is somewhat messy, for I needed gnome for it was familiar. Now i'm trying AwesomeWM, but it was updated too making my old scripts unusable...

I'm not a complete newbie, but when it comes to 'debugging' linux (ie. finding what is wrong), I have to rely on google searches.

#2 2009-10-09 17:02:09

deej

Re: Make me an Arch-poweruser (& help me get rid of vista).

I suspect your heart may be in the right place but, with all due respect, you will
not get the Arch community as your personal tutor !

So, if you have a problem may I suggest opening a thread; detailing the problem,
with any error messages you get - *after*, of course, you search the forums for
an answer and have received none.

Deej

#3 2009-10-09 17:24:27

ix

Thanks for the reply.

Well the thing is. I'm not sure where to start. Well I'd guess the warnings during the boot-up could be targeted first, but the text runs quite fast and I can't read the warinings. Do they get stored into a logfile somewhere?

#4 2009-10-09 17:30:50

deej

You'll find all [ most ? ] of what you need located in the /var/log/ directory.
In there you'll see 'dmesg.log'. This will [ should ] contain the errors you
speak of. All of the others are relevant too. Some, if you open them as
your normal user, will appear to be empty. These need to be opened as
the root user.

Deej

[EDIT]

Re-reading your first post: "This Arch install has never been complete (no auto mount, no auto dhcp,...)"; it