You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-14 21:23:45

Andrew11

I am new to linux

I am new to linux how do I find out more info and where do I get started?  Thanks for help.

#2 2009-10-14 21:27:16

ZeroCool

Re: I am new to linux

Hello new Linux member smile

I think the Wiki is a good start. Have you special questions search in the wiki or forum. You will find the most thing there.

#3 2009-10-14 21:32:16

litemotiv
Forum Fellow

don't double post Andrew11

Why shuold I switch to linux?

ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

#4 2009-10-14 23:15:05

Ghost1227
Forum Fellow
Website

litemotiv wrote:

don't double post Andrew11

Why shuold I switch to linux?

Typically I'd agree with you, but in this case I'd say it's not really double posting. In the aformentioned post he's asking for affirmation as to why he should switch. This post seems more geared towards learning more about linux itself. Just my two cents. Either way, welcome aboard Andrew11. The Wiki is always a good place to start, as is our IRC channel. And don't forget Google.

.:[My Blog] || [My GitHub]:.

#5 2009-10-14 23:33:25

lilsirecho
Veteran

Perhaps the Beginners Guide will give you a good start...............

Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

#6 2009-10-15 06:41:52

eDio

Arch is, of course, good distro to start. But you should look at some ready out of the box distro before, f.ex. Linux Mint or Ubuntu to understand, what linux can do.
I suppose, terminal on the start of your linux way will confuse you.

And as was said, Arch wiki is your friend wink You should read Beginners guide and Official install guide almost simultaneously. The second for deep understanding and the first for translating some points, which are unclear from the Official install guide.

#7 2009-10-15 11:06:59