You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-17 06:44:10

zoqaeski

Advice on upgrading from Ubuntu to Arch from scratch

Hello all

This is my first post, but I've read the forums for a couple of months or so. This is a particularly long post, so in short my questions are
* How does Arch differ from Ubuntu?
* How is the hardware support for Arch, especially in comparison to Ubuntu?
* What are other people's experiences in switching from another distro to Arch?

I've been using Ubuntu since sometime in 2005, but lately I've found it to be somewhat lacking in some of the more extreme customisations and up-to-date software (i.e. Jaunty still uses Firefox 3.0.x). Sometime over the summer university break (I'm from Australia, so that's December-January-February here), I plan to upgrade my machine to something that has significantly more grunt than my existing setup, and in the meantime I'm just trying to find out as much as I can to ensure that I build the best system for my requirements. The main catch is that my existing computer is so underpowered, I'm not entirely sure what sorts of hardware targets I should aim to save up for, given that I want to be able to experiment with a lot of things that I'm currently unable to do, such as audio editing and high-end vector graphics editing, but my rough aim is get a machine from which I'll get about 4 years out of before I feel the need to upgrade again.