You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-22 21:00:20

cfarinella
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 12

Can I reload rc.conf without rebooting?

Hi,

I have had to make a change to the timezone info in rc.conf and am wondering if I have to reboot the machine in order for the OS to recognize the changes.  I'd rather not if I can avoid it.

thanks,

--charlie

Offline

#2 2009-10-22 21:32:53

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: Can I reload rc.conf without rebooting?

Perhaps the following answers your post:

The rc.conf file (/etc/rc.conf) is the core system configuration file used in Arch Linux. It puts several commonly edited settings such as timezone, keymap, kernel modules and daemons to load at start-up.


Prediction...This year will be a very odd year!
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#3 2009-10-22 21:35:26

cfarinella
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 12

Re: Can I reload rc.conf without rebooting?

lilsirecho wrote:

Perhaps the following answers your post:

The rc.conf file (/etc/rc.conf) is the core system configuration file used in Arch Linux. It puts several commonly edited settings such as timezone, keymap, kernel modules and daemons to load at start-up.

Thank you for your response.  I did see this quote in the wiki, but was hoping there was a way around it.

--charlie

Offline

#4 2009-10-22 22:00:33

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: Can I reload rc.conf without rebooting?

You can look at /etc/rc.sysinit and do whatever it does in regards to the clock.

Offline

#5 2009-10-22 22:03:00

Nezmer
Member
Registered: 2008-10-24
Posts: 559
Website

Re: Can I reload rc.conf without rebooting?

if [ "$TIMEZONE" != "" -a -e "/usr/share/zoneinfo/$TIMEZONE" ]; then
        /bin/rm -f /etc/localtime
        /bin/cp "/usr/share/zoneinfo/$TIMEZONE" /etc/localtime
fi

This code comes from "/etc/rc.sysinit" . If you want to understand what happens during Arch startup , reading that script helps .

Edit : I type slowly wink

Last edited by Nezmer (2009-10-22 22:04:01)


English is not my native language .

Offline

#6 2009-10-23 14:40:28

cfarinella
Member
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 12

Re: Can I reload rc.conf without rebooting?

Nezmer wrote:
if [ "$TIMEZONE" != "" -a -e "/usr/share/zoneinfo/$TIMEZONE" ]; then
        /bin/rm -f /etc/localtime
        /bin/cp "/usr/share/zoneinfo/$TIMEZONE" /etc/localtime
fi

This code comes from "/etc/rc.sysinit" . If you want to understand what happens during Arch startup , reading that script helps .

Edit : I type slowly wink

Bingo, thank you very much.  This machine is a Slicehost cloud instance and there was no localtime file in /etc.  All I needed to do was copy the zoneinfo I needed to /etc/localtime and all is well.  Just like every other Linux distro.  :-)

thanks to all.

--charlie

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB