You are not logged in.

#1 2004-11-30 04:40:30

lazychris2000
Member
Registered: 2004-11-29
Posts: 35

HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

I looked in the forums for someone with a similar problem, but did not find anything that helped.  I just upgraded to arch not long ago (because my FC3 DVD was corrupt) and I am still learning how to work with Arch.  I followed the directions on the archwiki on how to setup your printer with CUPS (the localhost:631 way).  It did not recognize my printer, so I told it what kind it was and all that stuff then printed a test page.  nothing happened, so i opened gedit and printed a page with a word or 2 on it.  nothing happened again, so i tried it 1 more time.  3 days later (literally) the 2 gedit pages printed.  since then, nothing has printed.  my printer worked fine with FC2 and Suse 9.1, knoppix 3.3, 3.4, and 3.6, as well as Mandrake 10.
when I do lspci, it is not on the list of devices.  usbview doesnt show it, either.  I have not been able to find anything on the internet that will tell me anything about compatibility, unless im blind, except that linuxprinting.org says that it is. 
I am on the stock 2.6.9 kernel, my lsmod is:
Module                  Size  Used by
8390                   11264  0
sr_mod                 18724  0
lp                     11784  0
parport                42312  1 lp
snd_pcm_oss            56488  0
snd_mixer_oss          21376  2 snd_pcm_oss
smbfs                  70648  0
usb_storage            70848  0
ehci_hcd               31748  0
usblp                  13696  0
nvidia               3465180  12
snd_cmipci             33956  2
snd_pcm               101508  2 snd_pcm_oss,snd_cmipci
snd_page_alloc         10248  1 snd_pcm
snd_opl3_lib           11136  1 snd_cmipci
snd_timer              27140  2 snd_pcm,snd_opl3_lib
snd_hwdep              10244  1 snd_opl3_lib
gameport                5120  1 snd_cmipci
snd_mpu401_uart         8704  1 snd_cmipci
snd_rawmidi            26276  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          8456  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi
snd                    58980  12
soundcore              10848  2 snd
natsemi                29792  0
crc32                   4736  2 8390,natsemi
rtc                    13128  0

I dont think i am missing anything, but if anyone sees anything wrong with it, let me know.
If you want/need anymore info, ask and i'll post it.

Thanks

Chris


Arch .7.1, 2.6.15, 1024 MB PC2700, Athlon XP 2600+, Soyo KT400 Dragon Ultra Platinum, NVIDIA GeForceFX 5700 256MB

Compaq Armada E500--Arch .7.1, 2.6.14, 256MB PC100, 900MHz PIII, Netgear WG511T

Offline

#2 2004-11-30 04:44:29

lazychris2000
Member
Registered: 2004-11-29
Posts: 35

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

I don't know why this got put in workstation user....it was supposed to go to hardware issues


Arch .7.1, 2.6.15, 1024 MB PC2700, Athlon XP 2600+, Soyo KT400 Dragon Ultra Platinum, NVIDIA GeForceFX 5700 256MB

Compaq Armada E500--Arch .7.1, 2.6.14, 256MB PC100, 900MHz PIII, Netgear WG511T

Offline

#3 2004-11-30 06:06:40

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

First, ensure that you have pacman -Sy'd the hpijs and ghostscript packages. Once you have installed these you should be able to select PSC 1210 from the list of printer drivers in CUPS.

Also, turn off the printer and then turn it back on. Look in /var/log/kernel for a reference to the usb printer. If none exists then you may not have the correct usb host module loaded. I noticed from your post that you have ehci loaded but not ohci or uhci. If memory serves me correctly ehci is only for usb 2.0 and you'll still need another module for 1.x devices.

I would 'cat /var/log/kernel | grep usb' and look for a mention of usb printer or usblp.  You should see something like this:

Nov 30 00:54:48 localhost kernel: usb 2-1: USB disconnect, address 4
Nov 30 00:54:48 localhost kernel: drivers/usb/class/usblp.c: usblp0: removed
Nov 30 00:55:01 localhost kernel: usb 2-1: new full speed USB device  using addre ss 5
Nov 30 00:55:01 localhost kernel: drivers/usb/class/usblp.c: usblp0: USB Bidirec tional printer dev 5 if 1 alt 0 proto 2 vid 0x03F0 pid 0x2F11

If you see the above and you've installed hpijs and ghostscript you should then try to add the printer in CUPS. If you don't see the printer then you may need to try modprobing ohci-hcd or uhci-hcd modules and trying again.

You may find that you can add the correct printer but that printing still doesn't work. You must have ghostscript installed for printing to work. Hope this helps.

Also, you can also get the scanner working with some extra effort and the hpoj package.

Offline

#4 2004-11-30 07:22:51

lazychris2000
Member
Registered: 2004-11-29
Posts: 35

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

i had ghostscript and hpijs, also hpoj.  i modprobed the uhci and ohci and it worked.  big_smile  do you know how to get the scanner to work?


Arch .7.1, 2.6.15, 1024 MB PC2700, Athlon XP 2600+, Soyo KT400 Dragon Ultra Platinum, NVIDIA GeForceFX 5700 256MB

Compaq Armada E500--Arch .7.1, 2.6.14, 256MB PC100, 900MHz PIII, Netgear WG511T

Offline

#5 2004-11-30 17:53:31

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

You must configure the hpoj package by running 'ptal-init setup' as root. Say NO to parallel port scanning and YES to usb. It should detect the printer and print some output to the console. Next, run '/etc/rc.d/ptal-init start' and if you like add ptal-init to your rc.conf daemons list.

I assume you've already installed the sane package too. Okay, now you must edit the /etc/sane.d/dll.conf file and remove to comment before the hpoj line towards the end of the file. Now sane will detect the scanner. You can scan by using the scanimage command (i.e. 'scanimage --format tiff > image.tif') or by using a frontend like xsane.

Offline

#6 2004-12-02 05:30:37

lazychris2000
Member
Registered: 2004-11-29
Posts: 35

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

dude, you are my hero

thanks for your help dude!


Arch .7.1, 2.6.15, 1024 MB PC2700, Athlon XP 2600+, Soyo KT400 Dragon Ultra Platinum, NVIDIA GeForceFX 5700 256MB

Compaq Armada E500--Arch .7.1, 2.6.14, 256MB PC100, 900MHz PIII, Netgear WG511T

Offline

#7 2004-12-02 22:29:46

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

No problem. It took me many trieds to get this printer working under linux the first time so I'm just happy to help.

Offline

#8 2004-12-06 10:37:04

hugelmopf
Member
Registered: 2004-08-06
Posts: 71

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

I have been interested in this printer as well (a friend wanted to buy it). So are you saying, that you have this printer working in Archlinux as well as the scanner? Even both of you?

This would be a big (positive) surprise to me...

Offline

#9 2004-12-06 23:06:31

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

Printer and scanner both work fine. I have the PSC 21xx, which is a bit more advanced  version of the 12xx. I don't use the scanner at all, I only copy and print with the thing. When I had fun in trying to set up sane, I had it configured for network access, so I could scan from other windows and linux hosts.

Offline

#10 2004-12-06 23:53:54

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

Everything works well here. I did exactly as I posted above and the whole thing just works.

Offline

#11 2004-12-07 13:02:57

hugelmopf
Member
Registered: 2004-08-06
Posts: 71

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

I have just looked at the hpinkjet website and there I found the compatibility as well. Don't know why I have not found it a while back when searching for it ;-)

I am surprised that HP is providing Linux drivers themselves (maybe due to their interest in creating a Linux based DRM system...), as they don't mention anything about that on their official homepage hp.com.

Offline

#12 2004-12-20 16:55:48

Jet2k5
Member
Registered: 2004-10-03
Posts: 37

Re: HP PSC 1210 all-in-1 setup problems

WOW I have been having a hard time triying to get my scanner to work in arch, but man this topic cures it all.  Thanks a lot, I was just about to give up on this when skeeter recommended this post and it turned out to be just what I needed.  Thanks a lot guys

-Luis

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB