You are not logged in.

#1 2009-10-31 22:37:55

devyn
Member
Registered: 2009-01-01
Posts: 20

[radeon] Xorg 100% CPU, freezes, only way to resume is to reboot

Hello, I have an ATI Radeon 9250 with the bleeding edge Arch. Occasionally, my graphics will randomly stop working, and the only thing that works is the mouse (although slowly)

Rarely, the graphics cut out completely and the screen turns off, or I get an "Input Signal Out of Range" message from my monitor.

The kernel doesn't crash however, I can SSH in (very slowly) and then killall -9 Xorg (but it makes no difference on the screen).

If I run 'top' I see Xorg uses nearly 100% of CPU until it is killed by "KILL" signal. Even then, the process doesn't disappear, it just kills the processor usage.

I will see if I can get an Xorg log and 'dmesg' from one of these crashes.

/etc/X11/xorg.conf below:

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
#    Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load  "extmod"
    Load  "glx"
    Load  "dri"
    Load  "record"
    Load  "dbe"
    Load  "dri2"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option        "Protocol" "auto"
    Option        "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option        "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    #DisplaySize      300   220    # mm
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "HWP"
    ModelName    "HP vs15"
    HorizSync    30.0 - 63.0
    VertRefresh  50.0 - 76.0
    Option        "DPMS"
EndSection

#Section "Monitor"
#    Identifier   "Monitor1"
#    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
#    ModelName    "Monitor Model"
#EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "NoAccel"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "SWcursor"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Dac6Bit"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Dac8Bit"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "BusType"                # [<str>]
        #Option     "CPPIOMode"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CPusecTimeout"          # <i>
        #Option     "AGPMode"                # <i>
        #Option     "AGPFastWrite"           # [<bool>]
        #Option     "AGPSize"                # <i>
        #Option     "GARTSize"               # <i>
        #Option     "RingSize"               # <i>
        #Option     "BufferSize"             # <i>
        #Option     "EnableDepthMoves"       # [<bool>]
        Option      "EnablePageFlip"
        #Option     "NoBackBuffer"           # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DMAForXv"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "FBTexPercent"           # <i>
        #Option     "DepthBits"              # <i>
        #Option     "PCIAPERSize"            # <i>
        #Option     "AccelDFS"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "IgnoreEDID"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DisplayPriority"        # [<str>]
        #Option     "PanelSize"              # [<str>]
        #Option     "ForceMinDotClock"       # <freq>
        #Option     "ColorTiling"            # [<bool>]
        #Option     "VideoKey"               # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreCrystal"     # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreTunerPort"     # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreCompositePort"     # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreSVideoPort"     # <i>
        #Option     "TunerType"              # <i>
        #Option     "RageTheatreMicrocPath"     # <str>
        #Option     "RageTheatreMicrocType"     # <str>
        #Option     "ScalerWidth"            # <i>
        Option      "RenderAccel"
        #Option     "SubPixelOrder"          # [<str>]
        #Option     "ShowCache"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DynamicClocks"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "VGAAccess"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ReverseDDC"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "LVDSProbePLL"           # [<bool>]
        Option      "AccelMethod"         "EXA"
        #Option     "DRI"                    # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ConnectorTable"         # <str>
        #Option     "DefaultConnectorTable"     # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DefaultTMDSPLL"         # [<bool>]
        #Option     "TVDACLoadDetect"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ForceTVOut"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "TVStandard"             # <str>
        #Option     "IgnoreLidStatus"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DefaultTVDACAdj"        # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Int10"                  # [<bool>]
        #Option     "EXAVSync"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ATOMTVOut"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "R4xxATOM"               # [<bool>]
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "radeon"
    VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
    BoardName   "RV280 [Radeon 9200 PRO]"
    BusID       "PCI:0:8:0"
EndSection

#Section "Device"
#        ### Available Driver options are:-
#        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
#        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
#        ### [arg]: arg optional
#        #Option     "ShadowFB"               # [<bool>]
#        #Option     "DefaultRefresh"         # [<bool>]
#        #Option     "ModeSetClearScreen"     # [<bool>]
#    Identifier  "Card1"
#    Driver      "vesa"
#    VendorName  "Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS]"
#    BoardName   "661/741/760 PCI/AGP or 662/761Gx PCIE VGA Display Adapter"
#    BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
#EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "Screen"
#    Identifier "Screen1"
#    Device     "Card1"
#    Monitor    "Monitor1"
#    SubSection "Display"
#        Viewport   0 0
#        Depth     1
#    EndSubSection
#    SubSection "Display"
#        Viewport   0 0
#        Depth     4
#    EndSubSection
#    SubSection "Display"
#        Viewport   0 0
#        Depth     8
#    EndSubSection
#    SubSection "Display"
#        Viewport   0 0
#        Depth     15
#    EndSubSection
#    SubSection "Display"
#        Viewport   0 0
#        Depth     16
#    EndSubSection
#    SubSection "Display"
#        Viewport   0 0
#        Depth     24
#    EndSubSection
#EndSection

I really hope someone can get to the bottom of this, it has been annoying me for quite some time. In fact, I think since the release of Xorg 7.0 if I remember.

Its gotten worse, which is why I'm posting.

Offline

#2 2009-11-01 09:45:00

MadTux
Member
Registered: 2009-09-20
Posts: 553

Re: [radeon] Xorg 100% CPU, freezes, only way to resume is to reboot

Did you upgrade to the new xorg 1.7, which came yesterday? Are you using kernel mode setting with kernel 2.6.31? You could try to disable kernel mode setting (I did that to prevent problems with my ATI card).

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ATI … _.28KMS.29

Offline

#3 2009-11-01 18:13:07

devyn
Member
Registered: 2009-01-01
Posts: 20

Re: [radeon] Xorg 100% CPU, freezes, only way to resume is to reboot

Yeah, I disabled KMS. 1.7 you say? It would appear I have:

X.Org X Server 1.6.3.901 (1.6.4 RC 1)

Interesting. I'll do an update and let you know how that goes.

Edit: I updated to 1.7. Now I get extremely strange screen artifacts, Blender gives me a SIGSEGV, and Xmoto crashes the entire system.

Edit: Strangely, they only crash on KDE. With/without compositing makes no difference.

Edit: Actually, no. Blender still crashes, Xmoto doesn't. I'm now compiling Blender from subversion to see if it helps.

Last edited by devyn (2009-11-01 19:26:20)

Offline

#4 2009-11-02 00:50:38

Eratosthenes
Member
Registered: 2009-11-02
Posts: 19

Re: [radeon] Xorg 100% CPU, freezes, only way to resume is to reboot

I just set up the radeon driver for my HD 4200 graphics. I just installed Arch a couple of days ago so I am hopelessly noob.

Anyway, after a ton of messing around I got one screen working with KMS off, a minimal xorg.conf and then changed to 2 screens with xrandr. I don't have 3d working yet, which is not a big deal for my uses. But I figure I get something working and then start adding features.  Oh yeah, I'm using Xorg 1.7.1

my xorg:

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "HD4200"
        Driver      "radeon"
        BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
#        Option      "VGA-0"  "Samsung"
#        Option      "DVI-0"  "Dell"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier   "HD4200"
        Device       "HD4200"
        DefaultDepth     24
    Subsection "Display"
                Virtual 3200 1200
        EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
 Group        "video"
 Mode         0666
EndSection

The command that puts the screens where I want them:

xrandr --output VGA-0 --auto --right-of DVI-0

Offline

#5 2009-11-02 04:14:52

devyn
Member
Registered: 2009-01-01
Posts: 20

Re: [radeon] Xorg 100% CPU, freezes, only way to resume is to reboot

Your post is unrelated to this topic, however, since I'm feeling nice I'll help you.

You should probably start off by running "X -configure" and then tweaking the output of xorg.conf.new. Xorg will detect any connected monitors, mice, keyboards, graphics cards etc. and give them near-optimal settings.

Then, just tweak the file for performance.

Anyway, can anyone help me?

Offline

#6 2009-11-02 12:10:49

puurokattila
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 14

Re: [radeon] Xorg 100% CPU, freezes, only way to resume is to reboot

I had same kind of problems with my radeon 9800 pro in my ubuntu installation. Desktop works fine if Im not using desktop effects but when playing quakelive or using desktop effects  I get same symptoms as you devyn. Fortunately I had old nvidia card so now I can play quakelive again smile


Netbook Eee 901, 2GB, Intel 4965AGN, touchscreen - Arch linux
Desktop - Ubuntu 9.10

Offline

#7 2009-11-03 02:03:08

devyn
Member
Registered: 2009-01-01
Posts: 20

Re: [radeon] Xorg 100% CPU, freezes, only way to resume is to reboot

Yeah, and it doesn't instantly happen, just randomly, right?

Offline

#8 2009-11-03 19:58:32

puurokattila
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2008-11-19
Posts: 14

Re: [radeon] Xorg 100% CPU, freezes, only way to resume is to reboot

Yes that's right. Sounds awful lot like this http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16969

Last edited by puurokattila (2009-11-03 20:27:31)


Netbook Eee 901, 2GB, Intel 4965AGN, touchscreen - Arch linux
Desktop - Ubuntu 9.10

Offline

#9 2009-11-04 20:26:36

devyn
Member
Registered: 2009-01-01
Posts: 20

Re: [radeon] Xorg 100% CPU, freezes, only way to resume is to reboot

No resolution, eh? Well, I guess someone will have to change that big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB