You are not logged in.

#1 2009-11-05 18:28:50

tjwoosta

Questions about intel and kms

I use x86_64 with Intel GM965 and I play a lot of games. With this latest xserver and intel drivers update I noticed a great increase in overall performance to where I can now play games like openarena and assault cube with the highest effects settings. Glxgears now gives me about 530 where before it was about 400. That got me thinking that maybe theres something more I can do to enhance my graphics, because I haven't really done any tweaking since installing. One thing Ive been hearing about is KMS, so I decided to check if KMS was enabled in my default kernel.

Here's what I found in the kernel config

[tj@arch ~]$ cat /usr/src/linux-2.6.31-ARCH/.config | grep -i kms
# CONFIG_DRM_I915_KMS is not set
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
[tj@arch ~]$

Im still fairly new at configuring kernels, Ive only done it once before and I had help, but I think this means Intel KMS isn't enabled but Ati KMS is.  So is this config really identical to the config that im currently running?  Is there another way to check if Intel kms is on?  Should Intel KMS even be turned on with the 965, or is there better performance without it? Should I use an Xorg.conf, because right now I'm not but I did try it once and nothing seemed to change performance wise?

I'm basically just looking for some advice on how to increase performance with my chipset from somebody with some GM965 experience.

#2 2009-11-05 19:28:04

tavianator
Website

Re: Questions about intel and kms

CONFIG_DRM_I915_KMS controls whether KMS is the default for the i915 module.  You can still enable it with "options i915 modeset=1" in /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf.  See http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Int … Setting.29.

To check if KMS is on, cat /proc/fb (it should say inteldrmfb).