You are not logged in.

#1 2009-11-14 01:11:26

Gigadoc 2
Website

TES 4: Oblivion No Music

Hi,
I don't know if this is the right category to ask, but i didn't find a wine-related category.

My Problem: I installed the Game Oblivion with wine, installed also DirectX9 with winetricks (just the dll), and modified some graphics-related registry settings. Now everything works fine, and i have excellent graphics quality; but i have no Background-Music. Sound effects work (at least when setting wine sound output to OSS), but not the Background Music.
I think the main problem is, that the Background-Music is saved as an MP3, but i even tried installing the original Frauenhofer MP3-Codec, mpeg123 (for Linux, because i heard wine uses this), and i also tried to copy and activate the winemp3-librarys from an older wine-package (1.1.29).

I don't know what to do, and i think this problem isn't related to the game, because all other sounds (also speech) works. It would be very nice to play Oblivion under Linux, because the few games I play are the last thing keeping my windows-partition on my harddrive.

#2 2009-11-14 15:44:44

RobbeR49

Re: TES 4: Oblivion No Music

Sorry I don't have an anwser for the music problem, but honestly I think you're pretty lucky if everything else is working as well as you say. I remember trying to get Oblivion working in wine, it's been a while now, but I didn't have much luck at the time.

Might be time to revisit and try again - What exactly did you have to change/configure graphics wise to get it to work smoothly? Do you have an ATI or Nvidia card?

#3 2009-11-14 16:57:53

Gigadoc 2
Website

I have an Nvidia Card (256MB). I heard it's still hard to getting DirectX run with an ATI sad

I followed the following Guide:

1.Install the last version of wine (use the repos you find in the official site www.winehq.org)
2.Download Winetricks (from console type "wget http://www.kegel.com/wine/winetricks")