You are not logged in.

#1 2009-11-16 11:30:31

whoops

Intel graphics driver confusion...

Hi!

I'm new to Intel cards and driver and I hope, someone can give me a clue on what I've been doing (at all/wrong) so far...

1) I installed xf86-video-intel & tried xorg autodetect.
=> The screen resolution was a lot too big, resizing windows a pain, everything flickered a bit.

2) I looked into the Xorg logfile and saw it has been detecting and activating various things like DRI, calculating the video memory  etc - and for some reason it was looking for xf86-video-vesa & xf86-video-fbdev & complaining about it not being found, which is why I installed those two.
=> Now, after starting X the screen just locked, the Monitor turned off and the Keyboard didn't work to switch back to TTY any more either (so I removed the two drivers again)

3) After the reboot & "fix", I tried changing the screen resolution with xrandr.
=> The resolution seemed to change correctly, but the screen was moving / "rolling" horizontally with a high speed (think old TV's / wrong frequency). Upen moving the mouse, I was surprised again: moving it up and down made a black bar go up and down (could see whole screen if I had the mouse in the bottom, only black when in the top of the screen) and the further right the pointer was, the faster the screen was scrolling trough. Everything looked fine with the mouse pointer in the lower left corner, moving it even a pixel made the screen start to "roll out of the monitor" gently.

4) I generated a xorg.xonf with "Xorg -configure" and added some "strange stuff" (mostly from the compiz wiki entry - I don't use compiz, but in my experience if you configure it to run compiz, everything runs, so this was worth a try wink). Activating compositing, changing colours to 24bit and some settings I'm not familiar with.