You are not logged in.

#1 2009-11-17 16:05:54

mythus
Website

[SOLVED] high CPU and freezing issues

Greetings,

While I don't claim to be an expert at these things, I'm no newbie either... at least as far as computers go. I admit there are still many things I need to learn about linux, but that's all part of the fun. Anyways on to the point of this topic.

After the power supply on my main pc died and shorted out the mother board with it, I have been forced to use an older computer. It is a computer that I know works as it was used by my wife as a desktop when she didn't feel like using her laptop. Odd.. I know, but hey, whatever she wants she gets tongue.

It is an older pc, a compaq presario 5423. It is running an intel p4 1.6 gz processor and has an nvidia geforce 2 mx agp video card. Ever since the last xorg update that refuses to work with nvidia-96xx, I've been using the nv driver. I have tried briefly the other one (nouvelo or however it's spelled) and while it worked it seemed to slow my computer down and produce some odd effects like screen freezes and whatnot. It was running two 256 MB ram sticks, I replaced them with the two 512's from my main (dead) pc. I have the two hd's from my main pc on it, properly set up (I basically resinstalled arch so that I was sure it was done right, and just because I love the arch linux installation process, it is awesome IMO). I've been running this PC since.. October I believe... whenever it was that I submitted that e17 screenshot... I think that was October.