You are not logged in.

#1 2009-12-01 14:55:52

XLR3204S

Installing Software from Source

This question might sound a little bit retarded, but I'm just starting out, so I'd appreciate a little bit of help. I'm trying to install software from source, but it does not seem to work. Or at least, not for lynx, so I'm wondering if pacman is the only way of installing software on Arch (which I pretty much doubt).

I've downloaded lynx, unarchived it, went into its directory, and typed ./configure, followed by make and make check. Everything seemed OK, as I have even got the "Welcome to Lynx!" message. So I went on and typed sudo make install, and no errors occurred. But when I tried launching it with lynx, it said the command is not found. What am I doing wrong?

Also, one more thing: when I loose the prompt, how do I get it back? I mean, like this (http://bit.ly/4tkurS)

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by XLR3204S (2009-12-01 15:01:04)

#2 2009-12-01 15:10:35

tomk
Forum Fellow

Re: Installing Software from Source

Very first thing: pacman -S lynx, and be happy. smile

Next - if you really want to build stuff yourself, use the Arch Build System (ABS) to create an Arch package, which can then be installed, removed, and generally managed by pacman. Details in the wiki.

Last - if you decide to ignore all advice from anyone who takes the time to advise you (their advice will be as above) and install from source, it helps to know what you're doing. ./configure --help is a good start, knowing about your $PATH is also useful.

In your screenshot, the prompt is not lost - it is right there, waiting for you to complete and enter your tar command.

#3 2009-12-01 16:15:47

XLR3204S