You are not logged in.

#1 2009-12-04 00:52:51

aaron.kilbride
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 65

running a script

so i'd like to do the tmpfs thing for firefox but i was wondering... what exactly does it mean by run the script? do i create a file? i was always quite confused on what that meant

in essence how do i run a script?

Last edited by aaron.kilbride (2009-12-04 00:53:45)

Offline

#2 2009-12-04 01:08:44

graysky
Wiki Maintainer
From: :wq
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 10,597
Website

Re: running a script

Yeah, I wrote that wiki page and it's a nice tweak.  A script is just a text file (BASH script in this case).  It's like a DOS batch file (.bat) you're perhaps familiar with?  You need to make it executable as the wiki page states:

$ chmod a+x /path/to/tmpfs_firefox.sh

To run it, you simply call it:

$ /path/to/tmpfs_firefox.sh

Last edited by graysky (2009-12-04 01:09:56)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#3 2009-12-04 03:39:32

perbh
Member
From: Republic of Texas
Registered: 2005-03-04
Posts: 765

Re: running a script

... -or-
you run it in a subshell:
sh /path/to/tempfs_firefox.sh

Personally I prefer the latter - don't really like to have executables splattered around ... but each to his or her own ... both are equally valied

Offline

#4 2009-12-04 04:26:12

Gen2ly
Member
From: Sevierville, TN
Registered: 2009-03-06
Posts: 1,529
Website

Re: running a script

If you want to set up script environment (i.e. run scripts like regular commands from the terminal), I wrote a post about it, Setting Up a Scripting Environment.


Setting Up a Scripting Environment | Proud donor to wikipedia - link

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB