You are not logged in.

#1 2009-12-13 11:23:10

dumas

My sudoku program, any comments, improvements appreciated

Hi all,

So I've been refining my amateur-ish programming skills for around a month, and have been writing a C++ program that solves sudoku. (My background is in physics.) I realize there are a lot of mathematical sides in sudoku, but I'm concentrating on the programming side and not too much on the math/brain side. Now the program is basically finished (I hope!) and I just thought the hackers here can have a look and see if there are any things I can improve.

The link is here: http://ifile.it/jkr56v8/Sudoku.tar

Basically, a sudoku is an instance of Board, an abstract base class with the pure abstract function Go(). Any concrete class derived from it is essentially a strategy. I think this design pattern is called strategy?

I've implemented two basic strategies, BruteForce and Priority. BruteForce does the good old sudoku brute force algorithm, which use trial-and-error from the top left box to the bottom right box all possibilitiies until the correct one is found. Priority does basically the same as BruteForce, except instead of trying from top left to bottom right, it plugs numbers in the box that has the most filled "associated" boxes.

To accommodate "composite strategies," I implemented the prototype pattern, so for example, I can write

void HyperBF::Go(void)
{
    BruteForce::Go();
}

When a solution is found, I throw an exception to notify the main program, am I correct in that this is a clear and elegant use? Or is it a misuse and an alternative should be considered?