You are not logged in.

#1 2009-12-19 13:23:17

ScottArch

[SOLVED] Kernel26-BFS - Is there a how to?

Hi Folks,

I would not consider myself a beginner, but I am no expert either. I have never compiled a kernel to order and have only ever used the stock kernel ... but hey, you have to learn somewhere.

My question is, is there some kind of how to? There are several options when you install the Kernel26-bfs and after an exhaustive search I cannot find explanations of what they mean in real terms (at least in the context of a Y / N question when installing a kernel). I decided I would stop compiling and work on answering these questions before I start again.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Also, what is the difference between Kernel26-bfs and kernel26-ck, are they by the same developer?

Regards,

ScottArch

Last edited by ScottArch (2010-01-06 19:42:37)

Acer Aspire 5920G - 2Ghz Core 2 Duo T7300 - 256mb Nvidia 8600GS - 4GB RAM

#2 2009-12-19 13:29:57

ngoonee
Forum Fellow

Re: [SOLVED] Kernel26-BFS - Is there a how to?

Just copy the stock Arch kernel config and then select BFS scheduler. You can google any option you'd like, and if you're using menuconfig (or one of the graphical configs like gconfig) there'll be tooltips on what the options do.

The BFS patch set is by Con Kolivas. kernel26-bfs and kernel26-ck are two AUR packages which both use that patch set (I think -ck has a few more patches by same author). There's a difference between developer and maintainer.

Allan-Volunteer on the (topic being discussed) mailn lists. You never get the people who matters attention on the forums.
jasonwryan-Installing Arch is a measure of your literacy. Maintaining Arch is a measure of your diligence. Contributing to Arch is a measure of your competence.
Griemak-Bleeding edge, not bleeding flat. Edge denotes falls will occur from time to time. Bring your own parachute.

#3 2009-12-19 15:43:12

bangkok_manouel