You are not logged in.

#1 2009-12-25 03:59:06

mutantpineapple

STUpID - Simple Twitter Updater In Dmenu

This is my first attempt at shell scripting. It updates your twitter status. It's basically Zentwitter with the Zenity removed and replaced with dmenu. It's a bit silly but hey.

Why not use Zentwitter? I don't like having to store my twitter password in a plaintext file. STUpID will ask you for your username and password when you use it.

What if I want to store my password in a plaintext file? Then you're welcome to. STUpID will check for a ~/.stupidrc file, and if it exists it will use the first line of the file as your username and the second line as your password. If you like, you can store just the username in this file and STUpID will prompt you for only the password. And vice versa.

Why dmenu? Well it integrates nicely with my XMonad desktop and there are probably others out there like me. If you don't like dmenu then there are a million other twitter clients out there!

What features does STUpID have?
- It accepts your tweet as a command line argument if you want. If you have your username and password stored in .stupidrc, this makes STUpID a fire-and-forget command.
- It looks for ~/.dmenurc to correctly theme the dmenu instances.
- It can (sort of) apply different theming to the password prompt, so that you can for instance set the foreground to the same colour as the background. Voila, hidden password! Check the script to see how this would work.
- It allows you to set up your own output mechanism in the script. It defaults to stdout, but in the script I've commented out the method I use, which is a dzen2 instance located directly below dmenu which appears whenever there's an error.
- Uh, that's pretty much it. It's a simple script.

Is it finished? Nope, I still have to implement some sort of feedback on whether the update succeeded or failed. I'd welcome suggestions for how to implement this.