You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-21 07:34:59

n3olynx
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2004-12-06
Posts: 46

XMMS and Samba

I want to play mp3s located on my desktop windows share from my laptop wirelessly.  So far, I can play the mp3s fine through noatun because I can access the files by setting the location smb:/desktop/D . But, I want to use xmms to play my mp3's.

I mounted the windows share using smbmount. I set xmms to use alsa. The mp3s play for about 10 seconds and then completely stops. Does anyone know what's going on? How can I solve this problem?

Offline

#2 2004-12-21 13:11:19

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: XMMS and Samba

Does the share work fine otherwise? Can you access files without problems?


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#3 2004-12-22 11:44:56

n3olynx
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2004-12-06
Posts: 46

Re: XMMS and Samba

Yes. I can access the shares fine. I transfered a couple of files fine wirelessly without interrupt. I found out that Noatun doesn't stream the mp3's it downloads them to play them.  Any ideas why xmms can't stream the mp3's?

Offline

#4 2004-12-25 22:49:28

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: XMMS and Samba

Just a suggestion, but what if you mount the Samba-share with the mount command, instead of the smbmount command?

mount -t smbfs -o username=user,password=pword hostname://share /mnt/samba

I don't know the exact syntax, but it should be something similar.

man mount

if you can't get it to work. wink


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#5 2004-12-25 23:46:26

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: XMMS and Samba

appending uid and gid to your -o might be useful!

mount -t smbfs -o username=user,password=pword,uid=youruser,gid=yourusersgroup //hostname/share /mnt/samba

To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB