You are not logged in.

#1 2010-01-02 06:55:46

davidm

[Solved] 2 strange X11 related issues

Hello I am new to Arch but I have been reading the forum for a little while.  I have an install mostly done but ran in to a couple odd issues that I am hoping to get some assistance with:

#1 - running "nvidia-settings" yields:

[root@arch-desktop ~]# nvidia-settings
nvidia-settings: error while loading shared libraries: libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I'm running KDE but I tried installing gtk with no luck.  What is going on here and what do I need to install, if anything?

#2 - an even odder issue.... I have my xorg.conf set up to use 1920x1080 resolution using the proprietary Nvidia driver.  It mostly works, However, it will load by default into 1920x1080 for the Virtual settings but the physical setting will be smaller resolution.  It stays like this until I open system settings and choose "Display".  Here's the strange thing.  I don't need to click anything or change anything.  Nor do I have to exit it or save or any such thing, the mere act of opening "Display" sets my resolution exactly as it should be without the need to use virtual space which is off the physical screen.  What is going on with this and how may I fix it?

Any help would be appreciated.  Thank you.

Last edited by davidm (2010-01-11 18:00:01)

#2 2010-01-02 07:08:33

chpln

Re: [Solved] 2 strange X11 related issues

Regarding #1, libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 is owned by the 'gtk2' package.  If you have a look at the optional dependencies of nvidia-utils, it is listed there.

As a rule, if you need to track down which package a file belongs to, you can use either of two methods:
1) If the file is already available on your system, use 'pacman -Qo <file>'
2) If the file is not already available, use 'pkgfile' which can found in the 'pkgtools' package

#3 2010-01-02 07:08:50

skottish
Forum Fellow

Welcome to the forums.