You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-22 23:33:06

_will
Member
Registered: 2004-07-08
Posts: 123

thinkpad T42 wireless

i read the wiki and some problems on the forum, but i am very confused
how do i get wireless working

rc.conf

MODULES=(!usbserial !ide-scsi e1000 snd_intel8x0 snd-pcm-oss orinoco_pci)

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
#sit0="dhcp"

INTERFACES=(lo eth0) #sit0)

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng hotplug !pcmcia network netfs crond cups alsamixer) #wlan)

/etc/conf.d/wireless-profiles/sit0

INTERFACE="sit0"
IFOPTS="dhcp"
ESSID="SAMPLE"

/etc/modprobe.conf

options snd  device_mode=0666
alias sit0 orinoco_pci
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
alias sound-slot-0 snd-intel8x0

[root@MobileEvil will]# /etc/rc.d/network start
:: Starting Network                                                      [DONE] 
[root@MobileEvil will]# /etc/rc.d/wireless profile sit0 down
/etc/conf.d/wireless-profiles/sit0: line 14: wlan0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255: command not found
:: Stopping Wireless Profile [sit0] on sit0                              [DONE] 
[root@MobileEvil will]# /etc/rc.d/wireless start            
[root@MobileEvil will]# /etc/rc.d/wireless profile sit0 up
/etc/conf.d/wireless-profiles/sit0: line 14: wlan0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255: command not found
:: Loading Wireless Profile [sit0] on sit0                               [BUSY] Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) :
    SET failed on device sit0 ; Invalid argument.
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0D:60:77:15:45  
          inet addr:192.168.1.112  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::20d:60ff:fe77:1545/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:12519 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10756 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:11638766 (11.0 Mb)  TX bytes:1039689 (1015.3 Kb)
          Base address:0x8000 Memory:c0220000-c0240000 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:1616 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1616 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:80800 (78.9 Kb)  TX bytes:80800 (78.9 Kb)

sit0      Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-31-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          inet6 addr: ::192.168.1.112/96 Scope:Compat
          inet6 addr: ::127.0.0.1/96 Scope:Unknown
          UP RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

                                                                         [DONE]
[root@MobileEvil will]# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

[root@MobileEvil will]# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0D:60:77:15:45  
          inet addr:192.168.1.111  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::20d:60ff:fe77:1545/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:12158 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10402 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:11458971 (10.9 Mb)  TX bytes:1001410 (977.9 Kb)
          Base address:0x8000 Memory:c0220000-c0240000 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:1428 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1428 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:71400 (69.7 Kb)  TX bytes:71400 (69.7 Kb)

sit0      Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-31-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          inet6 addr: ::192.168.1.109/96 Scope:Compat
          inet6 addr: ::127.0.0.1/96 Scope:Unknown
          UP RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

thanks in advance
will

Offline

#2 2004-12-23 02:00:48

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

dont know if this will help you but
heres my stuff

/etc/rc.conf

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
wlan0="dhcp"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo wlan0 eth0)

/etc/modprobe.conf

alias wlan0 ndiswrapper


then setup wep & ssid in router to waht you want
then in arch

iwconfig wlan0 key restricted XXXXXXXXXX
iwconfig essid MYESSID
dhcpcd wlan0

Offline

#3 2004-12-23 03:13:58

_will
Member
Registered: 2004-07-08
Posts: 123

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

thanks for the fast reply

i do that and i get:
Error: Device wlan0 does not seem to be present.
and
wlan0: unknown interface: No such device


is it nessary to set ESSD and restriction keys -- im in the boondocks at home and don't really care if anyone gets my signal

Offline

#4 2004-12-23 08:39:51

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

INTERFACES=(lo eth0 sit0)

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng hotplug !pcmcia network netfs crond cups alsamixer wlan)

#-signs are comments!
and every service you want to start on boot is supposed to be inside the DEAMONS-array, ie, inside the ( and )

/etc/conf.d/wireless-profiles/sit0

INTERFACE="sit0"
IFOPTS="dhcp"
ESSID="WHATEVER"

what's your ESSID?
use "ANY" to identify automaticlly.


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#5 2004-12-23 15:54:55

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

the wireless-profiles stuff is from my wiki page....
for those who don't know I created some wireless scripts to aid in wireless usage... the theory is that with wireless internet, people tend to switch ESSIDs on occasion, but nothing else changes.  The scripts use a "profile" paradigm, where one can create a "starbucks" profile, a "home" profile, and a "school" profile.... they all use the same device, but may use different wireless options...

check out the page here: http://wiki2.archlinux.org/index.php/Wireless%20setup

to _will:
this line

/etc/conf.d/wireless-profiles/sit0: line 14: wlan0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255: command not found

in your output indicates that you have something similar to this in your profile, but it is not commented.  Add a # to the beginning of that line to fix that error (it should actually be harmless)

the real error

:: Loading Wireless Profile [sit0] on sit0                               [BUSY] Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) : SET failed on device sit0 ; Invalid argument. 

indicates that your ESSID is not correct.  Your ESSID is the named ID of the access point you are connecting to... if you do not know it, you can set it to "ANY" for some cards to automatically connect to the strongest signal... you can try using any, then checking iwconfig to see which ESSID it connected to

Offline

#6 2004-12-23 15:57:41

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

also, your original rc.conf will work fine with the wireless scripts provided in the wiki if you want to load the profile by hand...

to load wireless profiles on boot, try modifying it as follows:

MODULES=(!usbserial !ide-scsi e1000 snd_intel8x0 snd-pcm-oss orinoco_pci)

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"

INTERFACES=(lo eth0)
WIRELESS_PROFILES=(sit0)

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng hotplug !pcmcia network netfs crond cups alsamixer wireless)

Offline

#7 2004-12-23 22:31:01

_will
Member
Registered: 2004-07-08
Posts: 123

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

im always impressed by the community here.. thanks

however, at the fault of my own icompatance, im still having trouble

17:21:24 [~] $ sudo /etc/rc.d/wireless start
:: Loading Wireless Profile [sit0] on sit0                               [BUSY] Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) :
    SET failed on device sit0 ; Invalid argument.
                                                                         [FAIL] 
17:21:40 [~] $ cat /etc/conf.d/wireless-profiles/sit0 | grep -v "#"


INTERFACE="sit0"
IFOPTS="dhcp" 
ESSID="linksys"

17:21:42 [~] $ cat /etc/conf.d/wireless-profiles/sit0 | grep -v "#"


INTERFACE="sit0"
IFOPTS="dhcp" 
ESSID="ANY"

17:22:07 [~] $ sudo /etc/rc.d/wireless start
:: Loading Wireless Profile [sit0] on sit0                               [BUSY] Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) :
    SET failed on device sit0 ; Invalid argument.
                                                                         [FAIL]

could i have the wrong module, or is there still an error somewhere in the configuration

thanks

Offline

#8 2004-12-24 20:30:49

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

im no expert on this it took me a while to get my wireless up
until i got it up i ran my router wide open
no wep or any other encryption  is yours setup similar?
just till you get connected
do you know for sure this card works?
does another os(windowz) work ok with it?
reason i ask i was helping somebody last week with their's
after several hours found out its the router thats bad
hope its not a hardware failier but if it is stop beating your head on the wall
what kind of card is it ? i dont recall seeing this in your posts
my card is linksys but it has a broadcom chip in it
i had to run ndiswrapper to install a windows driver to get it to work

what chip is in yours "lspci" will tell you
maybe you need to set yours up with ndiswrapper?
hope this helps

Offline

#9 2004-12-24 23:37:42

_will
Member
Registered: 2004-07-08
Posts: 123

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

the school "gave" us these computers... and don't seem to have specific specs avalible

before the harddive failed (within 2 months of aquiring the computer) i had the computer wirelessly connected at school running windows

home now and just got the wireless router plugged in, it works with wired computers fine, but could easily be broken as far as wireless goes?

i searched around before i posted and i got the impression that orinoco works with T42

i have a friend who runs windows (so much for converting) who will be able to test the router, but for now the only wireless enable comp. is the one that can't connect

lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp.: Unknown device 3340 (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp.: Unknown device 3341 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB USB (Hub #1) (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB USB (Hub #2) (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB USB (Hub #3) (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB USB EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801BAM/CAM PCI Bridge (rev 81)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp.: Unknown device 24cc (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp.: Unknown device 24ca (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801DB SMBus (rev 01)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801DB AC'97 Audio (rev 01)
00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corp. 82801DB AC'97 Modem (rev 01)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc: Unknown device 4e50
02:00.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments: Unknown device ac46 (rev 01)
02:00.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments: Unknown device ac46 (rev 01)
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corp.: Unknown device 101e (rev 03)
02:02.0 Ethernet controller: Unknown device 168c:1014 (rev 01)

thanks

Offline

#10 2004-12-25 02:47:05

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

sit0 isn't a wireless card
eth0 is your wired card
lo0 is your loopback

I'll bet money you don't have the correct drivers installed. If you have the IBM 802.11a/b/g or 802.11b/g mini-pci cards, it'll have an atheros chipset. That chipset uses the madwifi drivers.

Luckily for you,  I turned those into a package. It is in the incoming folder of the ftp. Link:

ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/incoming/madwif … pkg.tar.gz

Anyway, download that and install it. As root:

pacman -A madwifi-0.1-1.pkg.tar.gz

If you use the hotplug daemon, restarting it should autoload the modules. If not, you'll need to:

modprobe ath_hal
modprobe ath_pci
modprobe wlan

You should have an ath0 device now. Use:

ifconfig -a

to see it.

After that, use iwconfig to configure your network:

iwconfig ath0 essid blahblahblah
ifconfig ath0 up

Replace blahblahblah with your SSID, and about ten seconds, and type:

iwconfig

again, and it should show a MAC address and a signal strength if you succecssfully associated with your AP. If not, something is broken.

After that, you can treat it like a normal network interface and assign IP addresses or use dhcpcd.

Offline

#11 2004-12-25 06:03:06

_will
Member
Registered: 2004-07-08
Posts: 123

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

a marry christmas for me, that worked

and i don't have a gift for you :oops:

thank you very much

for anyone reading thats as n00b as i

/usr/sbin/dhcpcd ath0

does the dhcp thing


thanks again

will

Offline

#12 2004-12-25 11:51:11

qball
Member
Registered: 2004-04-02
Posts: 40
Website

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

I got a IBM t42 aswell an my personal experience is that the ndiswrapper is alot more stable then madwifi.
madwifi has the problem of stalling from time to time.

and I personnally use quickswitch to connect to wireless. (I have to connect to many different AP's) and it's realy usefull.

Offline

#13 2004-12-25 13:46:21

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

The madwifi drivers are fine, I haven't had problems with them at all.

Quickswitch is indeed nice. smile

Anyway, I'm glad to hear that all that worked for you. It might be worth turning into a wiki at some point.

Offline

#14 2005-01-01 03:26:23

Iron Wallaby
Member
Registered: 2005-01-01
Posts: 11

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

Sorry to drag up an old topic, but as I was trying to follow through kleptophobiac's post, to where we are told to modprobe ath_hal, ath_pci, and wlan, I am given the error that those three modules do not exist.

I have just installed a fresh system, and have done little except for pacman -Syu -ing everything (X isn't even configured yet... XFree never gave me problems, but for some reason, X.Org won't work, heh... but that's for another day).

Is there something I ought to install before the ath_hal, ath_pci, and wlan modules exist?

[EDIT] Here we go. I reinstalled the 2.6.10 kernel, which provided the three modules. The problem I'm now having is that after loading in the modules, I receive no ath0 device. I'm not sure where to go from here... any ideas?

Offline

#15 2005-01-02 01:23:07

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

Did you install my package? (which btw, needs to be updated for the 2.6.10 kernel...)

The madwifi drivers are not part of the kernel.

Offline

#16 2005-01-02 02:04:54

Iron Wallaby
Member
Registered: 2005-01-01
Posts: 11

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

Yes, I did install the madwifi driver. However, if it's incompatible with 2.6.10, then would that explain the problem?

I guess it's time to try my hand at ABS, then, isn't it... wink

Offline

#17 2005-01-03 02:41:19

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: thinkpad T42 wireless

You could just grab the newest madwifi cvs and compile it manually. I'll update the package sometime this week, I've had a data catastrophe I need to deal with. sad

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB