You are not logged in.

#1 2010-01-11 11:28:09

Shodan
Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2008-08-25
Posts: 30

/proc/kcore is 131072.0 GB

Hey

My /proc/kcore file is 131072.0 GB. I thought this is supposed to be the same size as the amount of RAM I have (4GB).

I recently had som problems when my root partition got full and the I updated with pacman causing a lot of problems (elf stuff and magic quotes and stuff).
Got all this fixed by reinstalling the apps that owned to *.so files, but I'm still curious as to why kcore is so large.

Offline

#2 2010-01-11 12:17:58

jdarnold
Member
From: Medford MA USA
Registered: 2009-12-15
Posts: 479
Website

Re: /proc/kcore is 131072.0 GB

while most of the short answers about what /proc/kcore is say that it is a mapping of memory, I have seen a few places on the web that say it is actually the size of the maximum memory mapping of the system, so for my arch-64 system it is 128TB! Of course, it really isn't a "size", just a view.

Offline

#3 2010-01-11 12:29:56

chpln
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2009-09-17
Posts: 361

Re: /proc/kcore is 131072.0 GB

The same on my system.  I believe jdarnold is correct, unfortunately the proc man-page is yet another source which gives a misleading indication.

proc(5) wrote:

The total length of the file is the size of physical memory (RAM) plus 4KB.

Offline

#4 2010-01-11 12:36:06

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: /proc/kcore is 131072.0 GB

/proc/ doesn't actually use any disk space

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Procfs


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#5 2010-01-18 05:09:49

quantumphaze
Member
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 169

Re: /proc/kcore is 131072.0 GB

I have the same "problem" and it gets in the way when I want to find out what's eating my disk space. Is there a way to remove or hide it for utilities like Konqueror's file size view or the Gnome disk usage pie graph thing I forget the name of.


▁▂▃▄▅▆▇█▉▊▋▌▍▎▏▏▎▍▌▋▊▉█▇▆▅▄▃▂▁

Offline

#6 2010-01-18 05:17:40

fsckd
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 4,173

Re: /proc/kcore is 131072.0 GB

chpln wrote:

The same on my system.  I believe jdarnold is correct, unfortunately the proc man-page is yet another source which gives a misleading indication.

proc(5) wrote:

The total length of the file is the size of physical memory (RAM) plus 4KB.

It is the total length of physical memory on my system. I wonder, why the difference between 64bit and 32bit?

> ls -l /proc/kcore
-r-------- 1 root root 504M Jan 18 00:12 /proc/kcore

aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#7 2010-01-18 06:58:48

Pank
Member
From: IT
Registered: 2009-06-13
Posts: 371

Re: /proc/kcore is 131072.0 GB

quantumphaze wrote:

I have the same "problem" and it gets in the way when I want to find out what's eating my disk space. Is there a way to remove or hide it for utilities like Konqueror's file size view or the Gnome disk usage pie graph thing I forget the name of.

I use ncdu. It seems too work nicely. Just

ncdu /

Arch x64 on Thinkpad X200s/W530

Offline

#8 2010-01-18 07:07:16

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: /proc/kcore is 131072.0 GB

quantumphaze wrote:

I have the same "problem" and it gets in the way when I want to find out what's eating my disk space.

Use a tool that works correctly. du /proc shows that proc uses 0 disk space, as does ncdu suggested above.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB