You are not logged in.

#1 2010-01-12 01:52:37

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Mplayer

Hey guys.

Im confused.

I dont know which mplayer to install. and i dont know the difference between them.

those i found: mplayer-git, mplayer-coreavc and mplayer-svn

i got an asus 1000h and was able to play 720p mkv files in windows.


so help me out please!

Offline

#2 2010-01-12 02:01:08

test1000
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 834

Re: Mplayer

you are looking at the AUR interface most probably. the only "mplayer" in the officially supported repositories are "mplayer". So try a pacman -Sy mplayer i suppose...


KISS = "It can scarcely be denied that the supreme goal of all theory is to make the irreducible basic elements as simple and as few as possible without having to surrender the adequate representation of a single datum of experience." - Albert Einstein

Offline

#3 2010-01-12 03:38:39

bangkok_manouel
Member
From: indicates a starting point
Registered: 2005-02-07
Posts: 1,554

Re: Mplayer

test1000 wrote:

you are looking at the AUR interface most probably. the only "mplayer" in the officially supported repositories are "mplayer". So try a pacman -Sy mplayer i suppose...

Please do not recommend syncing without a full system update, this will cause breakage one day or another smile


All design goals must be phrased in such a way that it is hard to use them as slogans to justify stupidity.

Offline

#4 2010-01-12 13:48:28

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,879

Re: Mplayer

Just use http://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/x86_64/mplayer/ unless you have some special reason for compiling it yourself.


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#5 2010-01-12 14:23:28

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Re: Mplayer

I thought that its was necessery to compile it yourself to use both cores of the CPU? is that true?

and what is the difference between mplayer-git and mplayer?

Offline

#6 2010-01-12 15:54:42

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: Mplayer

git versions are development versions, so if you pick mplayer-git, you get a newer version, but it might include bugs that the other, stable package doesn't have.
Right now there's a very up to date mplayer in testing, which I guess will go to extra quite soon. So I'd recommend installing mplayer from the repos and you're done. To be honest, it's quite a pain to manually compile mplayer!

Offline

#7 2010-01-12 17:17:19

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 951

Re: Mplayer

It's not that much pain in the ass, but it wouldn't give you significant speed boost. Multicore rendering is not implemented in mplayer AFAIK (nor in any other video player that I know of) and you should be able to play 720p videos, no troubles at all there.


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#8 2010-01-13 00:03:00

qubit
Member
Registered: 2007-04-25
Posts: 47

Re: Mplayer

stiffy420 wrote:

I thought that its was necessery to compile it yourself to use both cores of the CPU? is that true?

To use multiple cores for playback there is mplayer-mt-git. It also requires x264-git.

Offline

#9 2010-01-13 03:54:56

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Re: Mplayer

if i install sudo pacman -Sy mplayer, will i use both my cores?

Offline

#10 2010-01-13 08:45:19

lustikus
Member
Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 262

Re: Mplayer

stiffy420 wrote:

if i install sudo pacman -Sy mplayer, will i use both my cores?

no it won't. But as far as I know, the Atom Cpu in your Asus 1000h only has one core, so "pacman -S mplayer" is fine for you.

Offline

#11 2010-01-13 16:46:15

atomicpookavirus
Member
Registered: 2009-06-28
Posts: 43

Re: Mplayer

stiffy420 wrote:

if i install sudo pacman -Sy mplayer, will i use both my cores?

As was mentioned earlier, never use pacman -Sy to install a single package. Instead, use only pacman -S. When you want to resynch the package database, it's wise to issue pacman -Syu.

Offline

#12 2010-01-13 17:17:45

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,879

Re: Mplayer

qubit wrote:
stiffy420 wrote:

I thought that its was necessery to compile it yourself to use both cores of the CPU? is that true?

To use multiple cores for playback there is mplayer-mt-git. It also requires x264-git.

Afaik, it should work with mplayer in extra/testing, since ffmpegin arch is built with threads enabled.
Easy to test if it does, lavdopts=threads=4 in the mplayer config (or pass it as a flagg) and check with htop.

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2010-01-13 17:18:06)


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#13 2010-01-13 20:11:53

qubit
Member
Registered: 2007-04-25
Posts: 47

Re: Mplayer

Mr.Elendig wrote:

Afaik, it should work with mplayer in extra/testing, since ffmpegin arch is built with threads enabled.
Easy to test if it does, lavdopts=threads=4 in the mplayer config (or pass it as a flagg) and check with htop.

Definitely not, first you need multithreaded FFmpeg-mt branch and than you must alter the mplayer src to be able to use it - that's what mplayer-mt-git do.

Offline

#14 2010-01-13 22:56:24

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Re: Mplayer

Do you guys think its able to get 720p mkv files to play smooth on my asus 1000h?

i got a little better results with mplayer-mt-git. but not acceptable.

any tips? should i try mplayer-coreavc-svn?

and why do i get smoother playback using mplayer than gnome-mplayer?

one more thing, what is multithreading?

Last edited by stiffy420 (2010-01-14 01:23:46)

Offline

#15 2010-01-14 01:34:12

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Re: Mplayer

and when i try to compile it i get this error:

make -C libavformat
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/steffa/mplayer/libavformat'
cc -DHAVE_AV_CONFIG_H -I.. -I..  -Wundef -Wdisabled-optimization -Wno-pointer-sign -Wdeclaration-after-statement -std=gnu99 -Wall -Wno-switch -Wpointer-arith -Wredundant-decls -O4 -march=native -mtune=native -pipe -ffast-math -fomit-frame-pointer -D_LARGEFILE_SOURCE -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64 -D_LARGEFILE64_SOURCE -Ilibdvdread4 -I.  -D_REENTRANT -I/usr/include/    -I/usr/include/freetype2   -I/usr/include/gtk-2.0 -I/usr/lib/gtk-2.0/include -I/usr/include/atk-1.0 -I/usr/include/cairo -I/usr/include/pango-1.0 -I/usr/include/glib-2.0 -I/usr/lib/glib-2.0/include -I/usr/include/pixman-1 -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I/usr/include/libpng12     -c -o os_support.o os_support.c
In file included from os_support.c:42:
network.h:71:6: warning: "HAVE_STRUCT_SOCKADDR_STORAGE" is not defined
In file included from os_support.c:42:
network.h:72: error: redefinition of 'struct sockaddr_storage'
network.h:77:6: warning: "HAVE_STRUCT_ADDRINFO" is not defined
network.h:78: error: redefinition of 'struct addrinfo'
network.h:135:6: warning: "HAVE_GETADDRINFO" is not defined
os_support.c:63:6: warning: "HAVE_GETADDRINFO" is not defined
os_support.c:182:5: warning: "HAVE_GETADDRINFO" is not defined
make[1]: *** [os_support.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/steffa/mplayer/libavformat'
make: *** [libavformat/libavformat.a] Error 2

i didnt have trouble installling mplayer-mt-git

Offline

#16 2010-01-14 09:52:33

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Mplayer

the svn and git its broken now. but for that error get the patch from our mplayer build

Last edited by wonder (2010-01-14 09:52:57)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#17 2010-01-15 02:02:47

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Re: Mplayer

But why do i get smoother playback with mplayer than gnome-mplayer?

Offline

#18 2010-01-15 09:51:23

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Mplayer

stiffy420 wrote:

But why do i get smoother playback with mplayer than gnome-mplayer?

play a movie and do ps ax | grep mplayer and see the multitude of options that its passed to mplayer


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#19 2010-01-24 19:43:46

uncholowapo
Member
From: US
Registered: 2009-03-29
Posts: 238

Re: Mplayer

I'm guessing that the Atom in you're Asus is hyperthreaded or dual core. That should be enough to play 720p files. Either something is running in the background on your computer, you don't have enough memory, or you computer is just not good enough. But seeing that 720p files play back nicely on Windows then it probably is something that you are doing. Are you sure you don't have power saving enabled that steps the CPU down from it's actual clock? Or maybe you were using the CoreAVC decoder on Windows?

EDIT:Even 1080p works on my Pentium Dual Core when the clock is at 800MHz using CoreAVC so it definetly is something that you are doing.

Last edited by uncholowapo (2010-01-24 19:45:37)

Offline

#20 2010-01-31 12:15:29

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Re: Mplayer

uncholowapo wrote:

I'm guessing that the Atom in you're Asus is hyperthreaded or dual core. That should be enough to play 720p files. Either something is running in the background on your computer, you don't have enough memory, or you computer is just not good enough. But seeing that 720p files play back nicely on Windows then it probably is something that you are doing. Are you sure you don't have power saving enabled that steps the CPU down from it's actual clock? Or maybe you were using the CoreAVC decoder on Windows?

EDIT:Even 1080p works on my Pentium Dual Core when the clock is at 800MHz using CoreAVC so it definetly is something that you are doing.

Yes, i was using CoreAVC on windows. but i dont know how to install it on Arch. How did you do it?

Offline

#21 2010-01-31 13:58:11

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,564

Re: Mplayer

stiffy420, have you specified the number of threads when using mplayer-mt-git? As in:

mplayer -lavdopts threads=2

With that, the Atom is capable of playing 720p. You can also try -lavdopts fast:threads=2


uncholowapo wrote:

Even 1080p works on my Pentium Dual Core when the clock is at 800MHz using CoreAVC so it definetly is something that you are doing.

Somehow I find this hard to believe. Ok, there are two things: CoreAVC is faster than ffmpeg-mt, though not by that much. And the Pentium is an out-of-order execution design, while the Atom is in-order execution. But I can't imagine even with those advantages it's possible. Was this on Windows? If yes, are you sure you weren't using hardware video acceleration? CoreAVC supports it on nvidia cards.

Offline

#22 2010-01-31 22:58:00

sand_man
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 2,164

Re: Mplayer

I just use mplayer from extra and it seems to use both cores.
When playing a 720p vid, the CPU usage goes up to about 80-90% If it was only using one core then the process would only reach a max of 50%


neutral

Offline

#23 2010-02-01 21:32:38

qubit
Member
Registered: 2007-04-25
Posts: 47

Re: Mplayer

sand_man wrote:

When playing a 720p vid, the CPU usage goes up to about 80-90% If it was only using one core then the process would only reach a max of 50%

Funny presumption smile Actually if you want to use both cores the program must run in two threads - one thread on each core. Check again with htop - it shows nicely the cores usage and you should see that the mplayer is listed only once. Than check again with mplayer-mt-git and see the difference - mplayer listed at least twice with different pids.

Last edited by qubit (2010-02-01 22:01:21)

Offline

#24 2010-02-23 10:17:45

stiffy420
Member
Registered: 2009-12-11
Posts: 99

Re: Mplayer

Sorry for bumping this thread again.

But is there any guide how to install coreavc with mplayer?

im seeing more and more mkv files beeing released and im not able to play them. that makes me think of installing Xp and that is very very sad. smile

Offline

#25 2010-02-23 12:09:20

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,564

Re: Mplayer

I doubt coreavc will actually help much. Even if it would, the hassle of getting it to work... It's not necessary, the Atom is capable of playing 720p video with mplayer-mt-git. just use -lavdopts fast:threads=2. I know this works, I have an Atom.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB