You are not logged in.

#1 2010-01-12 13:46:17

Nairou

Question about using non-KDE/GNOME window managers...

Hello! I am new to Arch and have what is likely a dumb question, but I'm hoping someone will give some insight.

Okay, so there are lots of window managers, with KDE and GNOME being the two biggest. And on Arch I can use any window manager I want. However, the great majority of the applications I'll end up using will be made for KDE or GNOME. Which means that, to run them, I'll have to have KDE and/or GNOME installed. And when running my KDE/GNOME apps, parts of KDE or GNOME (or, likely, both) will be loaded in memory to support the applications.

So then, other than appearance, what is the reason for using another window manager? Aren't you just adding another layer on top of what you're already having  to use?

There are several window managers I'm interested in trying, but I'm not sure if it is worthwhile if, under the scenes, I'm really just using KDE and GNOME still.

#2 2010-01-12 13:55:14

robrene

Re: Question about using non-KDE/GNOME window managers...

KDE and GNOME are not "window managers", but rather "desktop environments". The difference is that a desktop environment gives you a full desktop, usually consisting of a window manager, file manager, a panel and some other tools. GNOME uses "Metacity" as its window manager, KDE uses KWin if I am not mistaken. You can chose to install GNOME or KDE and then use a different window manager such as Compiz or Openbox.

A lot of people on these forums chose not to install GNOME or KDE (which is the full suite of all the tools) but rather to find all the seperate pieces for themselves. For example, I installed Openbox as my window manager, tint2 as my panel and Thunar as my file manager.