You are not logged in.

#1 2010-01-16 05:04:05

markjolesen

first experience -- hot/cold

In  regards to posting: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=59846

My problem with it was first it took 1+ years to close it. In addition, I was a newbie with 0 experience with Arch. Furthermore, I had no problem with the admin closing it forever, except that then person did  not provide a link to the Arch solution (http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sudo). Allan (http://bbs.archlinux.org/profile.php?id=11253) the admin probably knew it, and may have overlooked it, but he should have added the solution before closing it. In otherwords, my post was incorrect, and the solution allen provided to a newbie was a dumb link that gave him authority (reason) to close it, but  no real solution.

As for the whitespace, I had no X, and was using lynx, for which, I had little experience (damn, now I know why people don't want Adboe taking over the world with so-called internet rich experiences --- just put in plain text. I guess, that's another story...

So, can some adim correct http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=59846  and add a link to the Arch solution?

Regards,
Mark J. Olesen

#2 2010-01-16 05:09:47

jasonwryan
Anarchist
Website

Re: first experience -- hot/cold

I'm pretty sure you get an option to install sudo as part of the initial install process. I don't ever recall having to issue

pacman -S sudo

BTW - you might want to make the thread title a little more descriptive if you are looking for a specific outcome...

Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

#3 2010-01-16 05:22:34

markjolesen

yep, you do, but it is not enough, and it the point of my post was that I was wrong, and the admin should have posted the solution.

From what I get, Arch is right, sudo is not a normal part of the distro, so why choose gpasswd, and what is that?

#4 2010-01-16 05:30:07

jasonwryan
Anarchist
Website