You are not logged in.

#1 2010-02-09 03:18:14

tomislavski

[SOLVED] grub error 15

Hello,

I've been using Ubuntu for 2 years and OpenSUSE for a year before that. I want to learn more about linux and have a flexible installation. That's why I chose Archlinux.

It's kicking my ass. Big time.

I've gone through the installation without any problems. I wouldn't call myself a power user, but I'm far from being noob. Somewhere in between I guess.

It seams that although the installer signals are fine and dandy (success, successful...), I can't boot from the hard drive.

I have tried the installation many times, separating /boot from / and leaving / as a single partition holding /boot

I get a message from the installer that grub has successfully installed in both versions of the installation.

I have set

root(hd0,0)

kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda1 ro vga=773

for when the root holds the boot sad

and

root(hd0,0)

kernel /vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda2 ro vga=773

when they are separated. I haven't tried the UUID as in the tutorial for the first two attempts (read the warnings about /dev/sd** sometimes being changed).

Grub loading, please wait....
Error 15

How can he not find vmlinuz26, it's right there. I've mounted the /dev/sda1 without a problem using the same installing net cd, and it's right there. /dev/sda1 is the /
with /boot inside and all the files are there.

I'm fascinated by the distro, want to switch to it, but it's beating me up to a pulp. I understand these things and I have followed the instructions. I did learn much more about grub, but I'm really tired now and nothing is working. neutral

What am I missing? please help me.... hmm

Last edited by tomislavski (2010-02-10 10:28:13)

#2 2010-02-09 03:34:11

sHyLoCk

Re: [SOLVED] grub error 15

Is your initrd line ok?

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=122656

Last edited by sHyLoCk (2010-02-09 03:34:40)

~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)