You are not logged in.

#51 2010-02-09 23:39:30

mos98
Member
Registered: 2010-02-07
Posts: 24

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Install was fine but I've already  banned kde  from my harddrive again. still too buggy for my liking. This kde/qt release doesn't go too well with my nvidia 7600GT agp card I guess I don't know if it's the proprietary  driver or bad programming but my desktop always got messed up badly after a while (graphical glitches, unusuable desktops...)  so it's hello fluxbox again :DD  bummer!

Offline

#52 2010-02-10 00:39:34

anti-destin
Member
Registered: 2009-02-14
Posts: 234

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

jlacroix wrote:

I checked several mirrors, and I cannot find one that has all of the packages. I am in the USA, does anyone know of a USA mirror that has worked for them?

this one worked: ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/$repo/os/x86_64

but why limit yourself to us mirrors? try: http://mirror.giantix-server.de/archlin … /os/x86_64 it's up-to-date and fast.

Offline

#53 2010-02-10 00:50:22

binskipy2u
Banned
Registered: 2009-09-14
Posts: 212

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Hey EVERYONE.. i was wondering I know it may take a long time since arch main repo is throttled..but if i were to use that to install via ftp, then pacman -S xorg xf86-video-ati kde kdeplasma-addons  <<< will this (from the OFFICIAL arch repo) give me a clean install of kde 4.4.???

i went from 4.3.4 to 4.4 lots of kde pim problems kmail, knotes, kopete, and some minor hiccups... that were too painful to deal with.. but if i do things the above mentioned way, that should work? proberly take a few hours though.. ???

Last edited by binskipy2u (2010-02-10 00:50:29)


"Sometimes you comfort the afflicted, other times you AFFLICT the COMFORTABLE"

Offline

#54 2010-02-10 00:56:09

smakked
Member
From: Gold Coast , Australia
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 419

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

downloading it now from local mirror in Australia. Will report any issues


Certified Android Junkie
Arch 64

Offline

#55 2010-02-10 01:29:16

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,616
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

If you set archlinux.org as your main mirror and use it to sync your database, you can use

powerpill -Sy
powerpill --reflect '-l 45' -S kde

Because the database is updated from archlinux.org and because of the way that metalinks work, that will get all of the packages even if some mirrors do not have all of the them.

Last edited by Xyne (2010-02-10 01:30:19)

Offline

#56 2010-02-10 02:29:56

ozar
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2005-02-18
Posts: 1,681

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Huge upgrade but it worked on the first attempt.

Great work, Pierre... thanks for all your work on this!  cool


oz

Offline

#57 2010-02-10 02:45:26

davidm
Member
Registered: 2009-04-25
Posts: 338

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Just now upgraded to KDE 4.4.  The upgrade went rather smooth for me here.  Nice job. smile

Offline

#58 2010-02-10 03:27:11

Skripka
Member
From: 2X1280X1024
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 554

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Noicely done Pierre smile

Only one hiccup seen thusfar.  Changing plasma themes crashes Plasma desktop to black screen, but apps still work...rebooted and selected theme works.

Offline

#59 2010-02-10 03:33:18

kaddy
Member
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 192

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

im sitting around waiting for kdemod 4.4 to come out.... arghhhhh, im anxious to try kde 4.4!!! Im even considering removing kdemod and putting plain old kde on my Arch....

Offline

#60 2010-02-10 03:36:19

frankspace
Member
Registered: 2009-09-19
Posts: 12

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

I had a problem with this:  pacman failed to satisfy dependencies.  Specifically, qhwdetect "requires qt4" and qtemu "requires qt4>=4.1".  I eventually gave up and uninstalled both, and then the instructions from the first post worked flawlessly.

But then in attempting to reinstall those packages, I discovered (pacman -Qi qt) that the previous qt package had stated that it "provides" qt4, whereas the new version does not.  This appears to explain some of the other forum posts I've seen complaining about weird problems.

Is there some reason why qt no longer claims to provide qt4?  And short of downloading the qt tarball and editing it by hand, is there a better fix?

Offline

#61 2010-02-10 04:27:55

bernarcher
Forum Fellow
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 2,271

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

@frankspace

It is a pacman issue. Read the News (advisable in any case wink ):

... you have to update in two steps:

% pacman -Sy --asdeps qt
% pacman -Su

The "-S --asdeps" is the key to force the new qt package in.


To know or not to know ...
... the questions remain forever.

Offline

#62 2010-02-10 04:36:00

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,329
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

um... no...  that is quite the wrong explanation...

Packages should not depend on qt4.  qhwdetect is an AUR package so fix that yourself.  File a bug about qtemu.

Offline

#63 2010-02-10 04:58:52

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Also, there is no force in these commands. It's just a workaround to help pacman resolving the deps correctly. It's perfectly safe.

Offline

#64 2010-02-10 05:13:15

bernarcher
Forum Fellow
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 2,271

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

You are right. My fault, "forced" really is the wrong wording sad

Of course this should not refer to any "force" action. It is just as Pierre said: "It's just a workaround to help pacman resolving the deps correctly. It's perfectly safe."

Sorry for that.


To know or not to know ...
... the questions remain forever.

Offline

#65 2010-02-10 05:25:17

frankspace
Member
Registered: 2009-09-19
Posts: 12

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

@bernarcher:  I did read the news, and I did do exactly that two-step process.  It didn't work until I uninstalled those two packages, as described.  I did fix the PKGBUILD for qhwdetect.

I just thought posting this might be useful in case anyone else was running into similarly puzzling problems.  Sorry if this was the wrong place for it.

Offline

#66 2010-02-10 07:38:27

mechmg93
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-05-23
Posts: 196

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

sometimes, i wonder if archlinux tactic(yes i know this is archlinux tongue) to upgrade so soon, is correct. Let me explain why:

in my opinion kde 4.4 is buggy, a pure buggy software.

1. whenever i try to open k3b plasma totaly crashes (with both repos k3b and k3b-svn)

2. i have problems with akonadi starting (errors, etc)

3. when i try to change plasma theme for desktop, everything crashes

4. in system tray, in layout flags, american flag is wrong tongue

5. system does not remember the position of plasmoids in my main panel. Device notifier is always near system tray, even if i try to put it anywhere else

and this is only the begining.

I also tried to rm -r ~/.kde4 (after having backed it up) just in case this was the problem, but it wasn't.

BUT

even if ~/.kde4 is the problem, do you find rming it a solution??? so what's the difference between rolling release and clean install, if i am not able to keep having the same settings for years?

fortunately my job laptop is not upgraded yet, so for my job i surely stay with kde 4.3.4


as far as upgrading concerned, i had to install kdepim-runtime in order to be able to continue.

Last edited by mechmg93 (2010-02-10 07:42:01)


Mikes on AUR

Offline

#67 2010-02-10 07:43:24

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Do you really think we would have put it into extra if we all had these problems? And do you think we hadn't tested KDE 4.4 for wuite a long time before moving it?

Offline

#68 2010-02-10 07:45:14

mechmg93
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-05-23
Posts: 196

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Pierre wrote:

Do you really think we would have put it into extra if we all had these problems? And do you think we hadn't tested KDE 4.4 for wuite a long time before moving it?

so you think that even with rm -r ~/.kde4 and other kde related stuff, just kde doesn't like my computer?


i do not blame archlinux. i know that by having archlinux, all the above it's a part of everyday life.

Last edited by mechmg93 (2010-02-10 07:47:48)


Mikes on AUR

Offline

#69 2010-02-10 08:41:55

axel668
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 168

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Yay, KDE 4.4 on release day - Arch rules !!! big_smile Thanks to all who made this possible !

About the new KDE release, I really like it, the new theme looks great and it feels very snappy, even coming from LXDE (it takes 5 secs longer to boot up, but who cares ...). This is the 1st time Nepomuk is working for me, so I'm looking forward to a whole new dimension in desktop search experience, once it has finished indexing wink

The upgrade wasn't as smooth as it could have been, in the end I had to uninstall qt (pacman -Sc) to get by the "phonon" error posted earlier, --asdeps qt did not do the trick.  Also renamed .kde* folders in home and .config as precaution, and had no other problems, since.

Think I'll go with KDE for a while, now that KDE has become (almost) as fast as LXDE and RAM is not an issue on my machine.


"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila."
(Mitch Ratcliffe)

Offline

#70 2010-02-10 08:55:15

axel668
Member
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 168

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

mechmg93 wrote:

...
in my opinion kde 4.4 is buggy, a pure buggy software.
...

The Akonadi "problem" is not a problem, but part of Akonadi's upgrade process, i.e. they will go away after 2 reboots (don't ask me why ...).
I've had the Theme problem, too, a couple of times since KDE 4.2, my impression is it only happens with SOME themes, and only if you download them from KDELook.org, so I think it's rather the themes being buggy / not up to date than KDE itself.

Maybe it's the same with the other problems, and at least some of them will go away after a couple of reboots ... no question that there's room for improvement in this area, just want to say that it's not uncommon for KDE and the daily experience is often far better than the 1st expression.

@Arch team: please continue to release early, that's the reason why I'm using Arch and not SUSE wink


"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila."
(Mitch Ratcliffe)

Offline

#71 2010-02-10 09:44:37

Pitmairen
Member
Registered: 2007-08-02
Posts: 35

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

I'm having some problems with dolphin. The first time i open the properties dialog on a big file dolphin hangs for a long time and my hard drive makes a lot of noise. With a 350MB file it hangs for 45 seconds and with a 700MB file it hangs for 90 seconds.
And if i add two tags to a file, the "change tags" link disappears so i can't change or add tags.

Offline

#72 2010-02-10 10:27:27

smakked
Member
From: Gold Coast , Australia
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 419

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Upgraded and all is well no issue at all so far, krunner works , everything works so far, Great work Pierre smile


Certified Android Junkie
Arch 64

Offline

#73 2010-02-10 11:20:59

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Kontact doesn't see its components, but they all work independently, so no big booboo yet smile Apart from that I am simply blown away by all the new options. One thing is amiss though: the fancy panel (OSX style dock) breaks plasma sad


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#74 2010-02-10 11:56:57

Staerseus
Member
From: Prague
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 109
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Foe everbody who has problem with upgrading - with errors that something (phonon and qt needed, for example). Try:

pacman -Sy --asdeps qt phonon here-your-problematic-package

and than the upgrade will be OK. It was posted in this thread many times, but fro those, who are lazy to search for it, it is here.

@mechmg93: I you don't like rolling updates, don't update too early (first day after release) or stop using Arch...

Or use Gnome, which is moving with applets on the panels, too. KDE IS buggy, but at least, it is developing and it brings us new technologies.

That was one of reason, why I left Gnome and GTK+ - I like software actual "on edge" as new as possible.

Choose is the Arch way :-)

Last edited by Staerseus (2010-02-10 11:57:31)


Thanks for the GNU/Linux. EDIT:Thanks for the GNU/Linux, Linux guru, for the manuals and wikis.

Offline

#75 2010-02-10 12:23:50

mechmg93
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2007-05-23
Posts: 196

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Staerseus wrote:

@mechmg93: I you don't like rolling updates, don't update too early (first day after release) or stop using Arch...

i was sure that someone would post a reply such this one.

I have been an arch user for a year now, using archlinux in both home and work. The upgrade took place to my home pc just to see what happens and if kde is ready for upgrade in my work pc. I realised that of course is not , so in work pc i stay with kde 4.3.4.

So I want to use arch, because is less bad than the other distros.

Just wait few hours and count how many people will have lots and lots of problems. And this is the sign that maybe kde 4.4 is not ready for everyday use, except someone doesn't have any problem with krunner being not functional an plasma crashing.

I did not blame pierre for packaging, i did not blame archlinux. I blamed myself for upgrading the 1/2 of my machines because i thought that it will be stable because of being in extra.

Last edited by mechmg93 (2010-02-10 12:28:48)


Mikes on AUR

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB