You are not logged in.

#76 2010-02-10 12:26:52

toad
Member
From: if only I knew
Registered: 2008-12-22
Posts: 1,775
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

It is stable - well, as stable as a new release can get afaiac.

But anyway, here the solution to my kontact problem smile http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 35#p705635


never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

Offline

#77 2010-02-10 12:34:27

Staerseus
Member
From: Prague
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 109
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

mechmg93 wrote:
Staerseus wrote:

@mechmg93: I you don't like rolling updates, don't update too early (first day after release) or stop using Arch...

i was sure that someone would post a reply such this one.

I have been an arch user for a year now, using archlinux in both home and work. The upgrade took place to my home pc just to see what happens and if kde is ready for upgrade in my work pc. I realised that of course is not , so in work pc i stay with kde 4.3.4.

I shoudn't be so hard :-) But event if the KDE 4.4 is in the Extra repo, we have only one day after release->that means a high risk of getting some troubles. :-) I will see it today, after I got from school.

But I've choosed actual software, sometimes buggy, because bugs are in every software and I don't mind, when tha Plasma, when I am editing the plasmoid, crashes and in a second it is allright, with a window about a bug I can report :-)

Btw, my biggest troubles with upgrading on Archlinux were with the libpng and libjpeg libraries, not with system important stuff :-)


Thanks for the GNU/Linux. EDIT:Thanks for the GNU/Linux, Linux guru, for the manuals and wikis.

Offline

#78 2010-02-10 13:50:59

annafil
Member
Registered: 2010-02-10
Posts: 1

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Thanks for posting the fix. Running pacman -Sy --asdeps qt  solved it for me. You guys are the best!

Offline

#79 2010-02-10 16:00:35

jlacroix
Member
Registered: 2009-08-16
Posts: 576

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

I am still unable to reinstall kdevelop and kdevplatform, which I initially removed because KDE wouldn't upgrade as long as they were installed.

[jlacroix@jandk-server ~]$ sudo pacman -S kdevelop kdevplatform
resolving dependencies...
looking for inter-conflicts...

Targets (2): kdevplatform-0.9.97-2  kdevelop-3.9.97-1

Total Download Size:    0.00 MB
Total Installed Size:   18.40 MB

Proceed with installation? [Y/n] y
checking package integrity...
(2/2) checking for file conflicts                   [#####################] 100%
error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
kdevplatform: /usr/share/apps/cmake/modules/FindKDevPlatform.cmake exists in filesystem
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.

Offline

#80 2010-02-10 16:04:23

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Offline

#81 2010-02-10 16:21:34

drsjlazar
Member
From: Kasama
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 129
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

anti-destin wrote:

updated to 4.4 perfectly here. great work!

drsjlazar wrote:

I reinstalled aurorae without problems.

i'm assuming you mean that you grabbed it from aur. but aurorae is part of kde sc 4.4. any particular reason you reinstalled it?

I must have been too excited when I was upgrading. roll I didn't notice that. Removed the AUR package and reinstalled kdebase-workspace.

Offline

#82 2010-02-10 16:38:39

drsjlazar
Member
From: Kasama
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 129
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Staerseus wrote:
anti-destin wrote:

updated to 4.4 perfectly here. great work!

drsjlazar wrote:

I reinstalled aurorae without problems.

i'm assuming you mean that you grabbed it from aur. but aurorae is part of kde sc 4.4. any particular reason you reinstalled it?

That's great :-) Is it more stable and fast than 4.3 ?

When I installed 4.3 I was very selective of what I installed... and I left out a lot of packages. But what's the point of having 3GB RAM if you're not going to use it? So I piled on a few more packages and services in 4.4. Most notably I installed Akonadi which I am still learning how to use. I've got my GMail setup with KMail and Kontact... but I like the GMail web interface better. It (Akonadi) didn't inspire as many ooos and aaahs as I would have liked.

I feel like the wobbly windows are less anti-aliased and lower on the FPS... is it just me? the edges seem pretty jagged.

Nepomuk and Strigi were the biggest disappointment. I rm-ed the old files from .kde4 but still it's a no go for search in Dolphin. What's the point if it doesn't find a file after searching for the file name. Same goes for Krunner. A lot of the new features are cool and work (mostly Akonadi stuff), but the search functions never find what I'm looking for.

It is probably me not knowing what I'm doing.

Plasma crashed twice while I was messing around with some Plasmoids. Other than that it is stable and I'd say worth the upgrade. No regressions found.

Oh and terminus looks butt ugly (Intel 4500M graphics). Switched to DejaVu monospace.

[edit] I should mention... I'm running 64bit Arch.

Last edited by drsjlazar (2010-02-10 19:40:19)

Offline

#83 2010-02-10 18:26:03

cptr13
Member
From: Mobile, Alabama
Registered: 2009-03-27
Posts: 19

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

very helpful, thanks!

Offline

#84 2010-02-10 18:30:19

weakhead
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2008-08-21
Posts: 341
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

I've tried it out. It's a LOT better than KDE4.3. It's almost stable and flawless.
I'm a little upset that KDE4 is so intolerant for users who don't use desktop effects. Every plasma theme has ugly black border around widgets if you don't use composite. I guess that asking for nice, SQUARED corners is too much. I've searched for proper themes, but I couldn't find Plasma and windec theme that would be 100% squared (and so, glitch-free without composite). "Use desktop effects or GTFO", I guess...
I find it strange/funny/ridiculous that Firefox integrates with QT a LOT better than with GTK (at least with QTcurve theme). That was a surprise for me.
Nice release.

Offline

#85 2010-02-10 19:03:08

signor_rossi
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 257

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Just wanted to say that the Terminus font means trouble with radeon drivers from GIT and my x600 card too. Startup of Konsole with it as font takes very long, and the system freezes for some moments when I set/unset Terminus font in Konsole settings. Monospace font for example doesn't give these problems.
Akonadi of course acts up as usual for me, and xrandr systemsettings module still is a hassle to use with two monitors. Does anyone know how I can apply xrandr settings at session startup so that they work? The Xsetup metod doesn't work correctly either. The kdm screen looks fine but after login everything is messed up again.

Thanks, signorRossi.

Last edited by signor_rossi (2010-02-10 19:04:09)

Offline

#86 2010-02-10 19:09:12

tkdfighter
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2009-01-28
Posts: 126

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

The update on my x86_64 went well, but on x86 I get: kde-meta-kdepim: requires kdepim-akonadiconsole
I tried several different mirrors, including the kernel.org and official archlinux.com servers. Is anyone else experiencing this?

Offline

#87 2010-02-10 19:30:12

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

tkdfighter wrote:

The update on my x86_64 went well, but on x86 I get: kde-meta-kdepim: requires kdepim-akonadiconsole
I tried several different mirrors, including the kernel.org and official archlinux.com servers. Is anyone else experiencing this?

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 94#p704994

Offline

#88 2010-02-10 19:54:59

tkdfighter
Member
From: Switzerland
Registered: 2009-01-28
Posts: 126

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

@bash: thanks for pointing that out, I missed that going through the thread. Works!

Offline

#89 2010-02-10 20:01:08

Staerseus
Member
From: Prague
Registered: 2009-11-07
Posts: 109
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

drsjlazar wrote:
Staerseus wrote:
anti-destin wrote:

updated to 4.4 perfectly here. great work!


i'm assuming you mean that you grabbed it from aur. but aurorae is part of kde sc 4.4. any particular reason you reinstalled it?

That's great :-) Is it more stable and fast than 4.3 ?

When I installed 4.3 I was very selective of what I installed... and I left out a lot of packages. But what's the point of having 3GB RAM if you're not going to use it? So I piled on a few more packages and services in 4.4. Most notably I installed Akonadi which I am still learning how to use. I've got my GMail setup with KMail and Kontact... but I like the GMail web interface better. It (Akonadi) didn't inspire as many ooos and aaahs as I would have liked.

I feel like the wobbly windows are less anti-aliased and lower on the FPS... is it just me? the edges seem pretty jagged.

Nepomuk and Strigi were the biggest disappointment. I rm-ed the old files from .kde4 but still it's a no go for search in Dolphin. What's the point if it doesn't find a file after searching for the file name. Same goes for Krunner. A lot of the new features are cool and work (mostly Akonadi stuff), but the search functions never find what I'm looking for.

It is probably me not knowing what I'm doing.

Plasma crashed twice while I was messing around with some Plasmoids. Other than that it is stable and I'd say worth the upgrade. No regressions found.

Oh and terminus looks butt ugly (Intel 4500M graphics). Switched to DejaVu monospace.

[edit] I should mention... I'm running 64bit Arch.

I have 3GB RAM, too. (And the same graphic and 64 system, so that's good news to hear :-)) But I've never fully used. The GNOME with many Qt program took about 1GB, KDE takes about 700 MB...

Is the cube still toothy? I don't see the windows toothy, only the cube, on of the effect I use to show to my friends but almost never use :-)

I haven't find out yet, for what the Indexing, Strigi and Nepomuk is, when the only feature is rating pictures in Gwenview :-) Oh yes, I know it is still under heavy developing, but why is it enabled by default, if it cannot be used by normal users...

I awaited, that I should upgrade to 4.4 today, but my Internet provider's having troubles, so I will have to wait... Grrr :-)


Thanks for the GNU/Linux. EDIT:Thanks for the GNU/Linux, Linux guru, for the manuals and wikis.

Offline

#90 2010-02-10 22:50:45

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,838

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Pierre wrote:

Did not know about kde-meta-pim.

Maybe you could add it to the news item Pierre?

Offline

#91 2010-02-10 23:10:16

Pierre
Developer
From: Bonn
Registered: 2004-07-05
Posts: 1,950
Website

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

tomk wrote:
Pierre wrote:

Did not know about kde-meta-pim.

Maybe you could add it to the news item Pierre?

done.

Offline

#92 2010-02-11 04:10:40

gab1to
Member
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 24

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

I'm still having the same problem from RC2 and RC3, I can't change my plasma themes settings and it's getting me crazy. Everytime I enter System Settings>Appeareance it crashes. It does the same thing on >Desktop but not when I right click on the desktop...weird.

Anyway the Crash Handler gives me this output

Application: System Settings (systemsettings), signal: Aborted
[KCrash Handler]
#6  0xb7850424 in __kernel_vsyscall ()
#7  0xb6279571 in raise () from /lib/libc.so.6
#8  0xb627ad72 in abort () from /lib/libc.so.6
#9  0xb645350f in __gnu_cxx::__verbose_terminate_handler() () from /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
#10 0xb6450e95 in __cxxabiv1::__terminate(void (*)()) () from /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
#11 0xb6450ed2 in std::terminate() () from /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
#12 0xb6450f8b in __cxa_rethrow () from /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
#13 0xb64e8343 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#14 0xb64e8506 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#15 0xb64e7ce7 in QThreadStorageData::QThreadStorageData(void (*)(void*)) () from /usr/lib/libQtCore.so.4
#16 0xb1b14bbd in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtOpenGL.so.4
#17 0xb1b770ad in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtOpenGL.so.4
#18 0xb1bb69f0 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libQtOpenGL.so.4
#19 0x0000002f in ?? ()
#20 0xbfce5818 in ?? ()
#21 0xb1b0d534 in _init () from /usr/lib/libQtOpenGL.so.4
Backtrace stopped: frame did not save the PC

Am I the only one? Everything works perfect except this.

Offline

#93 2010-02-11 04:14:47

Skripka
Member
From: 2X1280X1024
Registered: 2009-02-19
Posts: 554

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

gab1to wrote:

I'm still having the same problem from RC2 and RC3, I can't change my plasma themes settings and it's getting me crazy. Everytime I enter System Settings>Appeareance it crashes. It does the same thing on >Desktop but not when I right click on the desktop...weird.

Am I the only one? Everything works perfect except this.

I've seen this, but it crashed to black desktop with apps still usable, but no crash logger.  I;ve only changed themes once when it happened, and haven't tried tempting fate.  But when you change themese, keep a terminal handy-and reboot from console.  New theme stuck for me on reboot.  My guess is on my end it is a plasma theme I installed and needs recompiled, but those themes I all installed through KDE's theme search engine built into the OS.

Offline

#94 2010-02-11 04:20:49

gab1to
Member
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 24

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

OK I have the same bug on Knotify and its extremely annoying. Everytime it tries to give you a notification, the crash handler pops up.

Offline

#95 2010-02-11 05:13:15

thefatprecious
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 98

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

Just wanted to say thanks for the new release and tips on updating. Everything went smooth on my end.


ILoveCandy

Offline

#96 2010-02-11 13:40:07

waldek_a
Member
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 85

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

@gab1to and Skripka: same problem here with changing plasma themes, it seems it crashes the window manager (?) and sometimes plasma, I'm either getting black screen without plasmoids and kicker, or only no kicker but plasmiods are there, or black screen with windows without frames.

I created a new user, just to see if this is dependent on something which is in my profile, but same problem.

Offline

#97 2010-02-11 13:50:52

noalwin
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 115

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

I had to uninstall kde-extragear-plasmoids from AUR since plasma started to crash frecuently. I also had those problems in KDE 4.3.4 but less often.

Offline

#98 2010-02-11 14:05:22

gab1to
Member
Registered: 2009-06-14
Posts: 24

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

@waldek_a: But at least you can enter to change settings in the plasma theme, I can't even see the Appearance window. I wen't back to kdemod and now plasma crashes after log in and I still have the same problem.

Offline

#99 2010-02-11 14:53:03

waldek_a
Member
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2005-04-19
Posts: 85

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

@noalwin: I do not have it (kde-extragear-plasmoids) installed.
@gab1to: have you tried with another userid? I mean is it user specific or a system-wide problem?

Offline

#100 2010-02-11 18:03:16

Yaro
Member
Registered: 2009-04-03
Posts: 145

Re: KDE SC 4.4.0 released

I've had several bugs. I hope they fix them in 4.4.1.

1. Activity-per-desktop is REALLY buggy. And I mean REALLY buggy.
     a. Some activities get it in their head that right-clicking will no longer give me a desktop context menu, meaning changing things like wallpapers and activities becomes virtually impossible. And before you go pointing out the obvious YES that mouse action IS there, Plasma just seems to ignore it.
     b. When I log in, NONE of the slideshow pictures are loaded on ANY desktop. With those that lack context menus because of the previous bug, I don't get a wallpaper ever because I can't simply tell it to fetch the next wallpaper.
     c. When I enable multiple activities per desktop, suddenly all the wallpapers get offset and I'm put into some wallpaper placement mode I can't get out of. It takes zooming out and zooming back in to fix this.
2. KWin has one bug I encountered while setting up KMail where suddenly it skews all my windows upward and I can no longer interact with them. IT only did this one. But it was very annoying.
3. The Search and Launch activity likes to crash itself and sometimes Plasma goes down with it when I use the search bar.
4. Similar thing happened to me when searching for effects plugins.
5. Something, somewhere, probably that irritating new Virtuoso program, drains my memory after a while and makes everything run damn SLOW.
6. Plasma STILL likes to crash a lot like it did in all the previous versions, in three cases: When you make a mistake and end up doing something strange on the desktop, when you simply do something Plasma doesn't like, or just sometimes just adding a Plasmoid.
7. Adding Plasmoids on the desktop seems to suddenly COMPRESS my wallpaper and activity into a little box that only takes up maybe 20% of my screen. The only way to fix this is to clear out .kde4 completely.

When did the KDE devs start sucking? Back in KDE 3 they made a really good system. They seem to consistently drop the ball and screw up constantly as of KDE 4.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB