You are not logged in.

#1 2010-02-14 11:51:27

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n … &px=Nzk4MQ

Can we do that on Arch ? (I guess we can, but how ?)

Offline

#2 2010-02-14 12:04:59

gtklocker
Member
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 460

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

You'll need some git packages from AUR (incl. a git kernel) :

http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=30158
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=29024
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=29602
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=11891

It'll be good to remove the nvidia-binary drivers first, so there will be no conflicts !

Finally, use a very-very minimal xorg.conf, defining only the driver (nouveau).

You need much luck too. big_smile

Offline

#3 2010-02-14 12:14:43

Spy
Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 78

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

For old nvidia hardware you must compile mesa: --with-dri-drivers=swrast,nouveau /
and disable gallium support

Alsa libdrm must be compiled with enabled  nouveau experimental api ...

Offline

#4 2010-02-14 12:27:41

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

I have a GTS250 though tongue

Offline

#5 2010-02-14 12:55:37

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 943

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

EDIT:
Sorry, it appears I was wrong, you need to enable nouveau gallium3d while building mesa for your card, I think.

Last edited by Dheart (2010-02-14 13:00:40)


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

#6 2010-02-14 13:14:05

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

Do I need nouveau-drm-snapshot ?

Last edited by flamelab (2010-02-14 13:14:15)

Offline

#7 2010-02-14 15:26:52

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

Mesa fails during "make" when creating nouveau files. Aborting.

Offline

#8 2010-02-14 16:29:10

gtklocker
Member
Registered: 2009-09-01
Posts: 460

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

You need mesa-git, too.

All the SUPER-EXTRA-UNSTABLE-GIT-packages.

Offline

#9 2010-02-14 16:31:44

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

That's where it fails, on mesa-git.

Offline

#10 2010-02-14 17:05:54

csslayer
Member
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 84

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

Check this
http://cvs.fedoraproject.org/viewvc/rpms/mesa/devel/

Seems a patch is required. But not included in the cvs
So use fedora srpm maybe a good idea.
http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pub/f … 13.src.rpm

Maybe you also want to check these ones.
http://cvs.fedoraproject.org/viewvc/rpm … eau/devel/
http://cvs.fedoraproject.org/viewvc/rpms/libdrm/devel/

Offline

#11 2010-02-14 17:16:43

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

I can't find something useful :-/ Just that they've pulled mesa from git on 8th of February ...

Offline

#12 2010-02-14 17:29:09

jorchube
Member
Registered: 2009-04-05
Posts: 55

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

¿? I can run blender, neverball... and so on, with the nouveau of our official repos... with a poor framerate with complex scenes, yes... but, does it means that can be even better performance nowadays?

Offline

#13 2010-02-15 07:24:58

tavianator
Member
From: Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 858
Website

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

I've toyed with this a few times; it works, but it's unstable as hell.  I did get compiz working between hangs though.  YMMV.

I use this PKGBUILD: http://pastebin.com/f656a07aa.  It's a split package, based on the official PKGBUILD.  It builds nouveau-dri-git, which you'll need along with mesa-git and libgl-git.  Separately, you'll need libdrm-git, and I think glproto-git and dri2proto-git from the AUR.  The repo versions of xf86-video-nouveau and nouveau-drm should work fine, but nouveau-drm-snapshot (or kernel26-nouveau-git) and xf86-video-nouveau-git can't hurt.

You can also try not installing nouveau-drm-git, but rather selectively using it by running

LIBGL_DRIVERS_PATH=/path/to/mesa-git/pkg/nouveau-dri-git/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/ <3D program>

Last edited by tavianator (2010-02-15 07:25:10)

Offline

#14 2010-02-15 09:03:42

Spy
Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 78

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

Try also mesa-full from AUR with these options:

--with-dri-driverdir=/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri \
        --enable-glx-tls \
        --with-dri-drivers=swrast \
        --enable-xcb \
        --enable-egl \
        --enable-glu \
    --with-state-trackers=glx,dri,xorg,egl \
        --enable-glw \
        --enable-gallium \
    --enable-gallium-swrast \
        --disable-gallium-intel \
    --disable-gallium-svga \
        --disable-gallium-radeon \
        --enable-gallium-nouveau || return 1

Offline

#15 2010-02-15 10:52:27

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

No progress, it fails during building nouveau g3d. I made a bug report on freedesktop so that I can have some official guidelines.

Offline

#16 2010-02-15 11:37:08

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

Hmm, no bugreporting is proposed ? That's really weird.

https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=26574 (it's my bugreport).

Offline

#17 2010-02-15 11:57:24

Spy
Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 78

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

Maybe because of new dri2.2 ptotocol...   try smile with glproto-git dri2proto-git and then compile mesa-full and xorg-server-git

xorg-server-git perform best with following options:

cd $startdir/src/$_gitname


  ./autogen.sh --prefix=/usr \
      --disable-ipv6 \
      --enable-dri2 \
      --enable-dri \
      --disable-xquartz \
      --disable-dmx \
      --enable-xvfb \
      --disable-xnest \
      --enable-composite \
      --disable-xcsecurity \
      --enable-xorg \
      --disable-xephyr \
    --disable-multibuffer \
      --enable-glx-tls \
      --disable-kdrive \
      --enable-install-setuid \
      --enable-config-hal \
      --disable-config-dbus \
      --disable-record \
      --disable-xfbdev \
      --disable-xfake \
      --disable-xsdl \
      --disable-static \
      --sysconfdir=/etc/X11 \
      --localstatedir=/var \
      --with-default-font-path=/usr/share/fonts/misc,/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled,/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled,/usr/share/fonts/TTF,/usr/share/fonts/Type1 \
      --with-xkb-path=/usr/share/X11/xkb \
      --with-xkb-output=/var/lib/xkb \
      --with-dri-driver-path=/usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri || return 1
  make || return 1

Last edited by Spy (2010-02-15 12:06:56)

Offline

#18 2010-02-15 12:31:09

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

And YES! I managed to build all nouveau packages, and kernel. I had KMS, but with it  or without it, the OpenGL KWin desktop was garbled. Do I also need xorg-server-git AND glproto-git ?

Offline

#19 2010-02-15 23:54:38

Calimero
Member
From: france
Registered: 2008-08-06
Posts: 45
Website

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

Guys.
Try this : http://nouveaudri.pastebin.com/m5dd25fd1
Or this, older : http://nouveaudri.pastebin.com/m3b067bee

BTW binary nouveau-dri and nouveau-dri-git are there http://calimeroteknik.free.fr/ctkommunity/
It works just like this ! Without any other GIT pkg, tee hee. It's included in and was originally made for my livecd : http://calimeroteknik.free.fr/ctkarchlive

Enjoy !

Last edited by Calimero (2010-02-15 23:54:56)


In a world without walls and fences, who needs windows and gates ?

Offline

#20 2010-02-16 06:40:40

tavianator
Member
From: Waterloo, ON, Canada
Registered: 2007-08-21
Posts: 858
Website

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

flamelab wrote:

And YES! I managed to build all nouveau packages, and kernel. I had KMS, but with it  or without it, the OpenGL KWin desktop was garbled. Do I also need xorg-server-git AND glproto-git ?

No need for xorg-server-git; it's annoying to compile and shouldn't have any benefit.  glproto-git should have been required, I'm surprised you got mesa-git to compile without it.

As far as garbledness goes, the nouveau 3D driver is in the EXTREMELY ALPHA NON-WORKING HARD-LOCK-CAUSING MAY-BURN-DOWN-YOUR-HOUSE state of development.  They don't want bug reports since they'd probably end up with more bug reports than lines of code.  I'm surprised that you got KWin GL compositing working at all; here the render check fails and it won't enable.  OTOH, KWin with XRender compositing works great, and has no need for nouveau-dri.

Offline

#21 2010-03-03 07:51:01

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Nouveau with 3D support ?! How ?

Any luck by somebody ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB