You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-08 23:28:27

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

NetworkManager

[Edit, removed "new" from subject. Being almost a one year old post]
[Edit, removed the Gnome from subject]
Hi,

I've made a preliminary package and adaptions for Arch Linux on the NetworkManager application.

PKGBUILD:

pkgname=NetworkManager
pkgver=0.3.1.cvs
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="A gnome Network Manager"
url="http://people.redhat.com/dcbw/NetworkManager"
license="GNU GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE Version 2"
depends=(wireless_tools x libgnomeui)
makedepends=()
conflicts=()
replaces=()
backup=()
install=
source=( http://www.krill.nu/arch/NetworkManager/$pkgname-$pkgver.tar.gz
     http://www.krill.nu/arch/NetworkManager/arch.patch
     http://www.krill.nu/arch/NetworkManager/dbus.patch)
md5sums=('9c1ce16ee37d6d9577983ec73678f36d' 'a1d692cdf16f44f70a0b0dc0e1d57ec5'
         'f2054255907d092db06cab096b6d7c56')

build() {
  cd $startdir/src/$pkgname
  patch -p1 < ../arch.patch
  patch -p1 < ../dbus.patch
  ./autogen.sh --prefix=/opt/gnome --sysconfdir=/etc --disable-more-warnings
  make || return 1
  make DESTDIR=$startdir/pkg install
}

A binary package can be found here

Note that that build depends on a,provided ,cvs snapshot of NM and two patches for Arch support and dbus policy tweaks.

I have not done any extensive testing on the package which should be considered beta quality.

Short usage description:

After package instalation as root, restart dbus (Only needed first time). Start NetworkManager daemon.

/etc/rc.d/dbus restart
/etc/rc.d/NetworkManager start

Start systray application

NetworkManagerInfo

You should now have a new icon in your systray.

To add this to your gnome-session:

Go to Desktop Preferences and then the Sessions option - this is under Advanced.
In the Startup Programs tab, click Add
type "NetworkManagerInfo", click OK.
log out of your gnome session, and log back in again.

Quoted from here

Offline

#2 2005-01-09 12:22:45

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,664

Re: NetworkManager

Do you have the patches available too?

Offline

#3 2005-01-09 14:50:40

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

Re: NetworkManager

Yep,

Arch patch
Dbus patch

It is the ones listed in the PKGBUILD.

Offline

#4 2005-05-20 20:30:35

leeghoofd
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2005-04-28
Posts: 61

Re: NetworkManager

On the site there is a new version avalaible.

I tried compiling it by hand (./configure etc) but it says that arch is not supported, probalby becauce it isn't patched. Do you know if the patch also works for the 4.0 version? And is de dbus patch still needed?

Has someone NetworkManager-4.0 working on archlinux? It looks like a very cool project to me!

edit: I forgot to say that I want to try 4.0 because 3.0 didn't work for me, if I started NetworkManagerInfo I saw nothijng in the systray and it crashed after a few seconds

Thanks,
David

Offline

#5 2005-05-21 15:53:49

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

Re: NetworkManager

I came to the same conclusion that leeghoofd did. NetworkManager V3 was not ready for prime time. I got it working on my laptop but it was not without problems.

I have not looked into it since then but i took a look into it again today.

Unfortunately it seems like NWM now depends on DBUS 0.3x while Arch uses 0.23. I was able to fix the patch to work with NWM 0.4 but compilation fail on DBUS.

The new untested patch can be found here It should apply clean against the cvs snapshot

Offline

#6 2005-05-22 11:41:25

leeghoofd
Member
From: the Netherlands
Registered: 2005-04-28
Posts: 61

Re: NetworkManager

Ok, thanks for updating the patch

Guess we have to wait until the new dbus is stable enough and be included in arch.

Offline

#7 2005-05-30 11:56:39

balliano
Member
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 36

Re: NetworkManager

hi, i find networkmanager very interesting, do you know if there are any news about dbus 0.3 on arch?

do you think networkmanager with beat gnome system tools for network configuration?

bye bye

Offline

#8 2005-06-17 00:16:01

clank
Member
Registered: 2005-04-11
Posts: 35

Re: NetworkManager

dbus 0.33 has been in testing for a few days now, if you wanted to try it out again.


=> Now known as jb

Offline

#9 2005-06-20 14:21:42

balliano
Member
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 36

Re: NetworkManager

thank you clank,
I found the packages in testing, anyone built networkmanager with new dbus/hal?

Offline

#10 2005-06-22 06:23:13

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

Re: NetworkManager

balliano wrote:

thank you clank,
I found the packages in testing, anyone built networkmanager with new dbus/hal?

I'm not sure what impact a upgrade to dbus 0.3 would have. I know that dbus 0.3 isn't api compatible with dbus 0.2. So an upgrade would most likely break other software. Please correct me if im wrong. 

Thats why i have not yet tested it.

Offline

#11 2005-06-22 07:06:48

balliano
Member
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 36

Re: NetworkManager

maybe that's why it has not been released officially...

we should wait but i hope not too long

Offline

#12 2005-06-24 19:07:35

k-dub
Member
Registered: 2004-11-12
Posts: 49

Re: NetworkManager

balliano wrote:

do you think networkmanager with beat gnome system tools for network configuration?

I sure hope one or the other shows up soon! Geez, why no love for Arch from Gnome? wink

Offline

#13 2005-07-10 16:24:13

nightfrost
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2005-04-16
Posts: 647

Re: NetworkManager

any news on networkmanager? has anyone been successful in install/running this app? (the arch-patch won't apply. Anyone?)

Offline

#14 2005-10-11 22:51:55

god
Member
Registered: 2004-12-01
Posts: 25

Re: NetworkManager

The code repository was last updated just a few days ago, but all news related to it seems old. Has NetworkManager died (as far as Arch is concerned)? I sure hope not, because it's just the thing I needed for roaming with my brand new Thinkpad. sad

Offline

#15 2005-10-12 01:35:43

WillySilly
Member
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 268

Re: NetworkManager

I'm working on it. When I'm done it'll be merged in with NetworkManager

Offline

#16 2005-10-13 04:07:51

Father
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2004-06-01
Posts: 209

Re: NetworkManager

Your license field is wrong btw.
It should be blank for the time being.

Offline

#17 2005-10-15 16:57:04

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

Re: NetworkManager

Hi again,

Has been some time since i last looked at NM.  Triggered by the last comments i looked at it again.

I have an updated patch. It should apply clean on the latest "release" cvs20050506. I have also updated the matching PKGBUILD to work with that.

patch
PKGBUILD

I have however not been able to test this to any greater extent. This due to a long dependencylist and me not having any other network than wired at the moment.

To be able to interact with dhclient NM requires the dhcdbd daemon. I have added PKGBUILD for that  to AUR.

Further more to fully work NM requires patched up dhclient. Which i havent got time to dig into. (Got tired only at looking at the patchlist that the RedHat guys apply to their 3.0.2 version of dhcp.)

If you decide to test it, dont forget to restart d-bus and hal after installation to make policies take effect.

Offline

#18 2005-10-18 20:18:34

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

Re: NetworkManager

Just a short note.

NM 5.0 was released today. Me and sillywilly have been somewhat working on Archlinux support.

Latest patch and PKGBUILD can be found here

Beyond not being tested to any greater extent, any help appreciated ;-), there are some known issues:

* DHCP does not work. This due to dhclient in dhcp package not patched with d-bus patches.
* nm-applet seems to require root to run. This due to d-bus permissions. (workaround is to su and launch nm-applet)

Offline

#19 2005-10-18 20:42:08

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: NetworkManager

tor wrote:

* DHCP does not work. This due to dhclient in dhcp package not patched with d-bus patches.

You might want to submit a feature request on the bug tracker for that.  Maybe the dev will accept to patch dhcp...

Offline

#20 2005-10-18 20:56:10

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

Re: NetworkManager

Snowman wrote:
tor wrote:

* DHCP does not work. This due to dhclient in dhcp package not patched with d-bus patches.

You might want to submit a feature request on the bug tracker for that.  Maybe the dev will accept to patch dhcp...

Yes, our plan is to get this package working out of the box if possible. The main problem right now is a clean patch to apply to dhcp package. RedHat applies some 30 patches to their dhcp package. Many of them dependant on each other :-( But maybe Judd has better knowledge of this package.

Offline

#21 2005-10-21 20:34:55

WillySilly
Member
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 268

Re: NetworkManager

The dhclient pkgbuild in aur has the patch that is needed for dhcp to work now.
I also put up the pkgbuild for bind-dbus. I tried doing conflicts and replaces but it wouldnt install because it would overwrite files that are already there. So I made the pkgname bind and version dbus to solve this problem until I figure out what the problem is.

Offline

#22 2005-10-23 03:29:47

sml
Member
Registered: 2005-05-21
Posts: 89

Re: NetworkManager

This is awesome work tor ... i cant wait for it to come into current smile

Offline

#23 2005-10-23 14:40:07

tor
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-02
Posts: 80

Re: NetworkManager

I have now updated the Archlinux patch to work with NM 5.1 released the other day.

Patch and matching PKGBUILD can be found here

To be able to use NM you need dhcdbd and dhclient from AUR.

I think that the Archlinux version of NM is starting to get useful. I'm now able to use it more or less full time. So please test it and report success/failure. If nothing serious surfaces im considering adding this to AUR in a near future.

Known issues with this release:

* named integration untested (To test this  dbus-1 bind is requred and running)
* Perminssions on d-bus interfaces relaxed.
* issueing /etc/rc.d/networkmanager restart fails. (Timing problems, first instance takes time to stop)

The dbus permission issue is due to Archlinux not having pam_console. I had to relax permissions on the exported d-bus interfaces to allow anyone to talk/listen on them. This is security flaw and it should be corrected. Most likely by adding a new group with NM permission.

Offline

#24 2005-10-23 17:19:24

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,378
Website

Re: NetworkManager

one minor thing:
please rename

/etc/rc.d/NetworkManager

to

/etc/rc.d/networkmanager

edit: forget about this - i just released, that it is already renamed

i think it's a good aim they have. the only concerns from my side are:

- is this only gnome related? (any chance to have a ncurses interface?)
- is this project dead? (any mailinglists? any more info than in cvs?)


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#25 2005-10-23 18:16:46

WillySilly
Member
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 268

Re: NetworkManager

It's not dead, ML on gnome.org ( http://mail.gnome.org/archives/networkmanager-list/ )
0.5.1 was released last week.
I says it works on Gnome, KDE and Xfce on the website http://people.redhat.com/dcbw/NetworkManager/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB