You are not logged in.

#1 2010-02-15 21:55:01

Raws
Member
From: Campo Grande - Brazil
Registered: 2009-08-19
Posts: 47

Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

Hello all.

After the recent updates (from this last week), OpenOffice simply stoped to work.

Launching any of its components on the command line issues something like: "** (soffice:4944): WARNING **: unable to get gail version number"

I', having this problem on three machines, with Gnome and KDE alike.

I've searched the forums, wikis and the net. I'm aware gail package have been "deprecated" in favor of GTK2.

Openoffice, AND GTK have been updated in this last updates.

I've waited 24h for the mirrors to finish sinking and reinstalled BOTH packages again, the problem persists.

Any hints of what should I do?

PS: I'm running arch x64 on all machines... All are core2duos (different versions E4500, E7500 and T6400, respectivelly with 2GB, 4GB and 3GB ram).

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited by Raws (2010-02-18 04:21:32)

Offline

#2 2010-02-15 22:29:40

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

Do other gtk apps work?


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#3 2010-02-15 22:42:34

Raws
Member
From: Campo Grande - Brazil
Registered: 2009-08-19
Posts: 47

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

The only GTK application that I use consistently and doesnt work is openoffice... Firefox, nautilus, virtualbox, etc... All launch normaly

Offline

#4 2010-02-16 01:44:52

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

I can say OOo has been crashing on me here a lot. Multiple times a day.

Seems there are already quite some bug reports. It is a warning however, and warnings in general don't make applications crash. Did you try removing your OpenOffice settings in ~ ?


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#5 2010-02-16 03:09:46

Raws
Member
From: Campo Grande - Brazil
Registered: 2009-08-19
Posts: 47

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

I didnt try to remove the settings... I'm going to try now... I'll Report back soon...

Offline

#6 2010-02-16 03:11:50

Allan
Member
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,869
Website

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

It looks like the settings were moved from ~/.openoffice to ~/.config/.openoffice with the 3.2 release, so this should not make much of a difference...

Offline

#7 2010-02-16 03:45:08

Raws
Member
From: Campo Grande - Brazil
Registered: 2009-08-19
Posts: 47

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

Nope... Didnt work... I've used "sudo rm -Rv ~/.openoffice" AND ".config/.openoffice". Them, I've removed openoffice with "sudo pacman -Rs openoffice-base", and reinstalled it.

Keep getting: "unable to get gail version number".  And OO dont even show its starting logo.

Thanks anyway, it was worth the shot.

Any other ideas?

Offline

#8 2010-02-18 04:27:17

Raws
Member
From: Campo Grande - Brazil
Registered: 2009-08-19
Posts: 47

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

After the last GTK update i've tryed again, and the problems persisted (no starting of openoffice, and the message "unable to get gail version number").

Then I had the idea to try it with "OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=kde4 soffice -writer", since I have KDE-base installed for some qt apps... it worked (openoffice started normaly).

After that, using the "OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=gnome soffice - writer" started to work again.

I still receive the message, but the program is working, so I'm willing to ignore it.

Dont ask me why it resolved to work after switching to Force KDE and coming back to FORCE GNOME. I dont know.

What matters for me, now, is that I do my work again big_smile

Anyway, thanks for the help.

Offline

#9 2010-03-16 17:51:10

pho8os
Member
Registered: 2007-05-22
Posts: 5

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

Same problem here. Solved with a

remove ~/.config/.openoffice.org

Offline

#10 2010-04-17 20:12:55

delcypher
Member
Registered: 2010-04-17
Posts: 42

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

I had this issue today. I just installed libgail and that fixed the problem. OO doesn't seem to be handling the lack of a non-essential library very gracefully.

pacman -S libgail-gnome

Last edited by delcypher (2010-04-17 20:13:22)

Offline

#11 2010-04-17 21:43:29

schuay
Trusted User (TU)
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 564

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

I get the same warning but no crash.. Your issue might be caused by something else?

** (soffice:14234): WARNING **: unable to get gail version number

$ pacman -Q libgail-gnome
error: package "libgail-gnome" not found

Offline

#12 2010-05-17 15:16:05

rissajeanne
Member
Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 15

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

Is there any way to solve this without installing libgail-gnome? I don't use gnome, and I don't want to install gnome-desktop (can't install libgail w/o gnome).

Offline

#13 2010-05-17 17:53:34

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,641

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

Feel free to use the openoffice-base-beta pkg (currently = 3.2.1RC1). The libgail issue is solved with it.

Offline

#14 2010-11-04 03:15:58

dijeeshpnair
Member
From: Kerala, India
Registered: 2010-11-04
Posts: 1
Website

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

Move .openoffice.org directory from your home folder and try again...

mv .openoffice.org .openoffice.org_bak


Diju smile

Offline

#15 2010-11-04 04:17:36

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 27,739
Website

Re: Openoffice - unable to get gail version number [SOLVED] (more or less)

dijeeshpnair - the OP has solved the issue, please don't necrobump threads: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … Bumping.27

Closing


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB