You are not logged in.

#1 2010-02-21 19:58:50

warnec
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-22
Posts: 166

Problem while trying to do a Wine regression test

Hi. I'm a big fan of Torchlight game, but there's a bug I'm try to help squash:

http://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=21779

I am able to run wine '.39 (not from AUR, it's not present there yet, edited PKGBUILD myself) and wine 1.0.1 to see the bug is not present in the stable release. I have been told to runa  regression test. And here comes my problem.

Following this :
http://wiki.winehq.org/RegressionTesting
howto seems easy.

There is no problem with downloading Wine from git. When trying to build, there's a problem:

[warnec@chakra-desktop Kompilowane]$ cd wine-git/
[warnec@chakra-desktop wine-git]$ CC="ccache gcc -m32" ./configure --verbose
checking build system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking host system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking for gcc... ccache gcc -m32
checking whether the C compiler works... no
configure: error: in `/home/warnec/Kompilowane/wine-git':
configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.
[warnec@chakra-desktop wine-git]$

My guess is that I'm missing some dependencies, because AUR Wine versions aren't built from source, but extracted from an external .tar.gz, no?
But I downloaded the PKGBUILD of wine-git from AUR (above "wine-git" folder name is just how I named a folder containing Wine's git code I tried to use for regression test)
and ran makepkg -s, and it told me I have all dependencies.

Here's config.log:
http://pastebin.ca/1804951

Hope you guys can help me wink

Offline

#2 2010-02-22 01:16:53

PirateJonno
Forum Fellow
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-04-13
Posts: 372

Re: Problem while trying to do a Wine regression test

if you have an x86_64 system, you can't build wine from source. If you're dead set on getting this to work, read this


"You can watch for your administrator to install the latest kernel with watch uname -r" - From the watch man page

Offline

#3 2010-02-22 08:19:38

warnec
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-22
Posts: 166

Re: Problem while trying to do a Wine regression test

How about this?:

http://wiki.winehq.org/WineOn64bit#head … 83e54ca799

It looks like something doable.

PS.: Nvm. I understand now and am currently making my own 32-bit system inside /opt. Just hope you could help me later with setting the prefixes during Wine compile. Remember, I'm a newbie! wink

Pity we're in two opposite corners of the world, you reply when I'm deeply asleep, and vice versa.

Update: I have problem when trying to create hard links from my systems' files to the 32-bit build
(Part Configure the new system:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ins … ew_system)

[warnec@chakra-desktop ~]$ LANG=C ln -f /etc/passwd* .
ln: creating hard link `./passwd' => `/etc/passwd': Invalid cross-device link
ln: creating hard link `./passwd-' => `/etc/passwd-': Invalid cross-device link
[warnec@chakra-desktop ~]$

Could it be because I have /opt on a separate partition? My fstab, just in case:

http://pastebin.ca/1805552

Last edited by warnec (2010-02-22 09:35:35)

Offline

#4 2010-02-22 12:02:02

PirateJonno
Forum Fellow
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-04-13
Posts: 372

Re: Problem while trying to do a Wine regression test

warnec wrote:

Update: I have problem when trying to create hard links from my systems' files to the 32-bit build
(Part Configure the new system:
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ins … ew_system)

[warnec@chakra-desktop ~]$ LANG=C ln -f /etc/passwd* .
ln: creating hard link `./passwd' => `/etc/passwd': Invalid cross-device link
ln: creating hard link `./passwd-' => `/etc/passwd-': Invalid cross-device link
[warnec@chakra-desktop ~]$

Could it be because I have /opt on a separate partition?

yeah, that's it. not sure how to go about fixing that, because you can't use symbolic links in a chroot. Is there any particular reason you have /opt on a separate partition? usually I try to avoid partitioning since i always run run out of space on the wrong drive tongue I suppose you could put the chroot somewhere else though, just make sure that your scripts etc point to the right place

Last edited by PirateJonno (2010-02-22 12:05:45)


"You can watch for your administrator to install the latest kernel with watch uname -r" - From the watch man page

Offline

#5 2010-02-22 17:25:24

warnec
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2009-06-22
Posts: 166

Re: Problem while trying to do a Wine regression test

Well, I like experimenting, so I often install things like new qt in /opt, and I decided I need more space for exclusive /opt use.

By "put chroot somewhere else" you suggest installing arch32 somewhere else than /opt, I suppose? So I could use something like /usr/arch32, for example? wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB