You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-02 12:59:37

tomislavski

[SOLVED]non existent battery life

Hi everyone,

I've bought this laptop:

http://www.notebooksbilliger.de/hp+615+ … anti+glare

because it's cheap, I'm a student and I've seen that its battery life is estimated up to 4 hours. Now, I have switched from Ubuntu to Arch because I want to learn and have more control over my system. I have installed the Archlinux over the Net, and the battery (after cycling and full charging) runs for a freaking HOUR AND TEN MINUTES. Since I don't trust my IT knowledge much, I've ran various liveCDs of various Linux distributions, and the laptop just dies after an hour and 10-15 minutes.

I have emailed the store and tried to get a reclamation on the battery and got an answer that the statement of "up to 4 hours" is just a rough estimate.

My question: can this short battery life have major dependence on the system configuration? I'm asking because right now I'm running vanilla OpenBOX installation and a few daemons, just the default tiny Archlinux install. If it runs for an hour and 10 minutes on minimal installation, I might as well toss it into the garbage bin when I start compiling on both cores.

Any advice? I'm programming a lot and I really need this thing to work for extended periods of time (at least 2.5 h)... but 1.16667 hours is really a difference from freaking 4 hours.

Thanks

Last edited by tomislavski (2010-03-20 11:12:35)

#2 2010-03-02 13:07:35

toad
Website

Re: [SOLVED]non existent battery life

Unless you are willing to work your way through large parts of the wiki and understand acpi, laptop-mode et al you may be interested to learn that there is an ubuntu based OS that is especially tweaked for battery life, low power consumption and top performance. It is called WattOS - just google it smile

never trust a toad...
::Grateful ArchDonor::
::Grateful Wikipedia Donor::

#3 2010-03-02 15:32:38

tomislavski

toad wrote: