You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-02 15:59:06

djseomun
Member
From: Durham, NC
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 35
Website

Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

I'm running vanilla KDE 4.4.0, and my graphics card is an integrated Intel GMA X3100. I want to be able to start KDE 4.4.0 and already have an extended screen setup, with my VGA-connected LCD monitor at 1920x1080 and my laptop monitor at 1280x800. I have no problems manually setting it up, either through xrandr in the console or through KDE's system settings. If possible, I'd like to log-in and have it already done for me.

The Wiki claims that the easiest way to achieve a working multi-monitor setup is using xrandr after X starts and then adding the appropriate command to one's .xinitrc. I reproduce mine as follows:

#!/bin/bash
#
# ~/.xinitrc

export XMODIFIERS=@im=SCIM
export GTK_IM_MODULE="scim"
export QT_IM_MODULE="scim"

xrandr --output LVDS1 --right-of VGA1 &

scim -d &

#exec startkde

It doesn't do anything for me. If relevant, I reproduce my /etc/X11/xorg.conf as follows:

Section "Files"
    ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/PEX"
# Additional fonts: Locale, Gimp, TTF...
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
#    FontPath     "/usr/share/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/75dpi"
#    FontPath     "/usr/share/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/100dpi"
# True type and type1 fonts are also handled via xftlib, see /etc/X11/XftConfig!
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/western"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/ttf/decoratives"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/openoffice"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/truetype/ttf-bitstream-vera"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/latex-ttf-fonts"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/defoma/CID"
    FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/defoma/TrueType"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load "ddc"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "dri"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "glx"
    Load "bitmap"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "record"
    Load "synaptics"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Card0"
    Driver      "intel"
    VendorName  "All"
    BoardName   "All"
    Option "AccelMethod" "exa"
    Option "MigrationHeuristic" "greedy"
    Option "ExaNoComposite" "false"
EndSection


Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultColorDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
        Depth     24
        Modes "1920x1080" "1280x800"
        Virtual 3200 1080
    EndSubSection
EndSection

I re-iterate that I am able to achieve an extended multi-monitor 1920x1080 + 1280x800 setup. I don't believe the driver is at fault here. I just don't know why I can't get KDE 4.4.0 to start with that extended screen display.

Any suggestions?

Offline

#2 2010-03-05 18:27:54

djseomun
Member
From: Durham, NC
Registered: 2008-10-19
Posts: 35
Website

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

No one else has an extended screen multi-monitor setup that works upon logging in with KDE 4.4.0?

Offline

#3 2010-03-05 19:28:59

raf_kig
Member
Registered: 2008-11-28
Posts: 143

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

I have, i use disper in a script that enables my multi monitor setup, and that script is in my kde autostart

Offline

#4 2010-03-06 12:29:08

antonikus
Member
Registered: 2009-11-22
Posts: 42

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

It annoys me too, that I have to either set it manually in System Settings - Display or xrandr whenever I log in...

maybe a solution would be to add your xrandr command to ~/.xsession ?
try


Linux user since redhat 6.1. former gentooer, former slacker. Now arher.

Offline

#5 2010-03-06 14:05:23

andre.ramaciotti
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2007-04-06
Posts: 649

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

I'm sorry for the slight hijack of this topic, but I'd like to make a question: is there a way to make each monitor show a different workspace in KDE? I have a setup similar to the OP and it's weird to have a workspace spread through two different size monitors.


(lambda ())

Offline

#6 2010-03-06 15:22:08

signor_rossi
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 257

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

I have to do the setup manually with xrandr commands in the shell too. sad When using kdm as login manager it should work via xrandr entries in the /usr/share/config/kdm/Xsetup file, but it doesn't. The kde systemsettings module is useless to me, since when I use it my laptop screen will go blank as soon as I don't use clone mode. Would like to see a solution too. smile

Last edited by signor_rossi (2010-03-06 15:23:42)

Offline

#7 2010-03-06 17:11:39

Labello
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 317
Website

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

is simply created a little script located in /usr/bin that contains:

#!/bin/bash
xrandr --output DVI-0 --mode 1600x1200
xrandr --output DVI-1 --pos 0x0

and i told KDE to execute this file during login in the appropriate system-settings dialoge


"They say just hold onto your hope but you know if you swallow your pride you will choke"
Alexisonfire - Midnight Regulations

Offline

#8 2010-03-07 01:46:08

elocal
Member
Registered: 2004-03-18
Posts: 54
Website

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

You can achieve the same behavior through your xorg.conf.  Look at the Device and Monitor sections in my xorg.conf, they contain the LeftOf and RightOf options.

Section "Device"
    Identifier      "ATI HD4850"
    Driver  "radeon"
    Option  "ForceLowPowerMode" "true"
    Option  "AccelMethod" "exa"
    Option  "DRI" "on"
    Option  "Monitor-DVI-0" "Primary"
    Option  "Monitor-DVI-1" "Secondary"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Primary"
    Option "LeftOf" "Secondary"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Secondary"
    #Option "RightOf" "Primary"
    #Option "LeftOf" "Primary"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Device "ATI HD4850"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
        Virtual 3360 1080
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
    Group    "video"
    Mode    0660
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option    "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "BlankTime" "0"
EndSection

Offline

#9 2010-03-07 08:17:07

Labello
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 317
Website

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

yeah that's right,

but using scripts makes it more flexible. when i want to "work" i just execute the script called "work" and both my screens are next to each other. but as soon as i want to play a game i don't want to have two monitors. either i put them above each other or i simply switch one off.

but to change a config that was setup in xorg.conf you definately need to restart the xserver.


"They say just hold onto your hope but you know if you swallow your pride you will choke"
Alexisonfire - Midnight Regulations

Offline

#10 2010-03-07 09:34:04

smakked
Member
From: Gold Coast , Australia
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 420

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

Labello wrote:

yeah that's right,

but using scripts makes it more flexible. when i want to "work" i just execute the script called "work" and both my screens are next to each other. but as soon as i want to play a game i don't want to have two monitors. either i put them above each other or i simply switch one off.

but to change a config that was setup in xorg.conf you definately need to restart the xserver.

Xorg.conf does all that anyway, and switches to single screen automatically if you start a game

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "IBM L170 TFT"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     55.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GTS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-1"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +1920+0, DFP: 1920x1080_60 +0+0; DFP: 1920x1080 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

EDIT: just realised mine behave s like that because of nvidia


Certified Android Junkie
Arch 64

Offline

#11 2010-08-03 06:51:03

cmyster
Member
Registered: 2010-08-03
Posts: 1

Re: Start KDE4.4 with extended multi-monitor setup?

Also have a look at man kdm in the files section. If you have a good working xrander script you can call it from Xsetup (I think its Xsetup) and it will run before anything else.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB