You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-09 21:38:18

nLEyETn

[SOLVED] Pulseaudio daemon stopping after use.

I am new to using pulseaudio so I'm not sure what the purpose of this behavior is.  When I login to my account I have the pulseaudio daemon start by running `pulseaudio --start`.  Whenever I start the daemon, I notice a little buzzing noise through my speakers for a split second.  After I use a program that has audio and the program exits, I notice when I open up another program that uses it, it reinitializes the daemon because I hear the noise through my speaker.  I checked the processes to see if pulseaudio is still running after i close the first program and it shows it has quit.

I have checked through some pulseaudio options and noticed two that are probably affecting it:

exit-idle-time
allow-exit

I found that exit-idle-time refers to the daemon being terminated after a certain amount of idle time but I'm not sure what allow-exit does.

The thing I don't understand is why should the pulseaudio daemon quit at all?  Isn't the purpose of the daemon to stay running so that other programs can access it when they need to?  Now I know the pulseaudio daemon does restart when a program needs it if it is not already running.  The problem with that is when I open up mplayer and pulseaudio is not running.  Pulseaudio restarts but the initialization is to slow where mplayer doesn't have a chance to see it and does not use the audio output.  I then have to quit mplayer and restart it right away for it to use pulse since it is now running.  Is there a downside to keep pulseaudio running all the time and is it possible to do that with the options?

Last edited by nLEyETn (2010-03-15 22:50:38)

#2 2010-03-10 02:57:50

cesura
Package Maintainer (PM)

Re: [SOLVED] Pulseaudio daemon stopping after use.