You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-10 15:42:30

Sutix
Member
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 5

RT2870 again

Hi all.

I have serious problems with my rt2870 WLAN chip again. I switched to kdemod 64 Bit. I used the 32 Bit version before and had of course troubles there too but the card worked(somehow... Not in a nice way).

First what I have done:

I read many stuff on the net and the wiki. I tried almost all suggestions. First I blacklisted the 2x00, 2800, 3870 drivers. After that ra0 showed up under ifconfig. With the delivered drivers I couldn't connect or scan. After that I downloaded the ralink-drivers, changed the confik.mk, compiled and installed. Copied and changed the RT2870STA.dat. Still no functional drivers. After that I replaced all rt2870sta.ko I found in sys-dirs to be sure my compiled drivers are used. Then I downloaded the firmware and placed it in /lib/firmware/.

There is no way to get this driver working for me. And what bother me too: IF I get the driver working somehow is there any way, that I can use netcfg or wicd for configuring? The driver ALWAYS want to use the .dat and I see no way to use any other config-tool or at least wpa_supplicant and dhcpcd.

Any suggestions would be great.

Now the logs and stuff:

Kernel-Version
Linux tuxbox 2.6.32-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Tue Feb 23 19:43:46 CET 2010 x86_64 AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 925 Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

# lsmod | grep rt
rt2870sta             611078  1 
rtc_cmos                8904  0 
rtc_core               14631  1 rtc_cmos
rtc_lib                 1810  1 rtc_core
usbcore               140485  9 rt2870sta,rndis_host,cdc_ether,usbnet,usbhid,usb_storage,ohci_hcd,ehci_hcd
#dmesg

[...]

===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 2(2) BSS returned, data->length = 451
===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 3(3) BSS returned, data->length = 598
===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 2(2) BSS returned, data->length = 451
---> RTMPFreeTxRxRingMemory
<--- RTMPFreeTxRxRingMemory
<-- RTMPAllocTxRxRingMemory, Status=0
-->RTUSBVenderReset
<--RTUSBVenderReset
CfgSetCountryRegion():CountryRegion in eeprom was programmed
CfgSetCountryRegion():CountryRegion in eeprom was programmed
Key1Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Key2Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Key3Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
Key4Str is Invalid key length(0) or Type(0)
1. Phy Mode = 9
2. Phy Mode = 9
3. Phy Mode = 9
MCS Set = ff ff 00 00 01
<==== rt28xx_init, Status=0
0x1300 = 00064300
ra0: no IPv6 routers present

RT2870STA.dat

#The word of "Default" must not be removed
Default
CountryRegion=1
CountryRegionABand=1
CountryCode=DE
ChannelGeography=1
SSID=***
NetworkType=Infra
WirelessMode=9
Channel=3
BeaconPeriod=100
TxPower=100
BGProtection=0
TxPreamble=0
RTSThreshold=2347
FragThreshold=2346
TxBurst=1
PktAggregate=0
WmmCapable=1
AckPolicy=0;0;0;0
AuthMode=WPA2PSK
EncrypType=TKIP
WPAPSK=***
DefaultKeyID=1
Key1Type=0
Key1Str=
Key2Type=0
Key2Str=
Key3Type=0
Key3Str=
Key4Type=0
Key4Str=
PSMode=CAM
AutoRoaming=0
RoamThreshold=70
APSDCapable=0
APSDAC=0;0;0;0
HT_RDG=1
HT_EXTCHA=0
HT_OpMode=0
HT_MpduDensity=4
HT_BW=1
HT_BADecline=0
HT_AutoBA=1
HT_AMSDU=0
HT_BAWinSize=64
HT_GI=1
HT_MCS=33
HT_MIMOPSMode=3
HT_DisallowTKIP=1
IEEE80211H=0
TGnWifiTest=0
WirelessEvent=0
CarrierDetect=0
AntDiversity=0
BeaconLostTime=4
PSP_XLINK_MODE=0
[root@tuxbox /]# ifconfig ra0 up
[root@tuxbox /]# dhcpcd ra0
dhcpcd: version 5.2.1 starting
dhcpcd: ra0: rebinding lease of 192.168.0.198
dhcpcd: ra0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd: timed out

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited by Sutix (2010-03-10 15:43:22)

Offline

#2 2010-03-10 16:39:11

schuay
Trusted User (TU)
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 564

Re: RT2870 again

What happens when you use rt2870sta shipped with the kernel?

Offline

#3 2010-03-10 16:43:02

Sutix
Member
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 5

Re: RT2870 again

schuay wrote:

What happens when you use rt2870sta shipped with the kernel?

With the delivered drivers I couldn't connect or scan.

So nothing like with all versions I find.

Offline

#4 2010-03-10 17:33:06

JohannesSM64
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2009-10-11
Posts: 623
Website

Re: RT2870 again

With the rt2870sta shipped with the kernel you need this:

» grep \^MODULES /etc/rc.conf
MODULES=( !rt2800usb !rt2x00usb )

It's a stupid old bug that still isn't fixed.
Btw, 2.6.32 changed "ra0" to "wlan0" for rt2870sta. (but didn't fix anything)

Last edited by JohannesSM64 (2010-03-10 17:35:53)

Offline

#5 2010-03-10 19:14:49

Sutix
Member
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 5

Re: RT2870 again

As said in my first post, I blacklisted all drivers.

First I blacklisted the 2x00, 2800, 3870 drivers

My Card is recognised correct by the kernel and drivers are loaded correctly. It's just not able to scan and connect but I have no error messages. The card is recognised as ra0.

Offline

#6 2010-03-11 08:24:53

schuay
Trusted User (TU)
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 564

Re: RT2870 again

Sutix wrote:
schuay wrote:

What happens when you use rt2870sta shipped with the kernel?

With the delivered drivers I couldn't connect or scan.

So nothing like with all versions I find.

Sorry, I did scan your post several times but I must've skipped past that sentence smile
Strange. Are you on the latest version? My interface has been named wlan0 for some time now with the kernel shipped drivers, and it works perfectly.
The drivers from AUR/their website don't work for me at all.

Offline

#7 2010-03-11 12:48:46

Sutix
Member
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 5

Re: RT2870 again

schuay wrote:
Sutix wrote:
schuay wrote:

What happens when you use rt2870sta shipped with the kernel?

With the delivered drivers I couldn't connect or scan.

So nothing like with all versions I find.

Sorry, I did scan your post several times but I must've skipped past that sentence smile
Strange. Are you on the latest version? My interface has been named wlan0 for some time now with the kernel shipped drivers, and it works perfectly.
The drivers from AUR/their website don't work for me at all.

Hehe, it's okay. At least you try to help me smile
As far as I know I am, but I replaced them because they don't work. But I reinstall the kernel to proof that again, maybe there was another reason why they don't worked there. I hope reinstalling the kernel do the work here?

Offline

#8 2010-03-11 14:00:02

Sutix
Member
Registered: 2010-03-10
Posts: 5

Re: RT2870 again

The Kernel-Drivers doesn't work too. No matter what I do. But I am able to scan with them. first I tried wicd.
For some strange reason the driver wants to load /etc/Wireless/RT3070STA/RT3070STA.dat ?
After that I copied the RT2870STA.dat to the desired location which is configured correctly. Still no functional driver...

Logs:

dmesg

forcedeth 0000:00:0a.0: irq 29 for MSI/MSI-X
eth0: no link during initialization.
ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
<-- RTMPAllocTxRxRingMemory, Status=0
-->RTUSBVenderReset
<--RTUSBVenderReset
--> Error 2 opening /etc/Wireless/RT3070STA/RT3070STA.dat
1. Phy Mode = 0
2. Phy Mode = 0
3. Phy Mode = 0
MCS Set = 00 00 00 00 00
<==== RTMPInitialize, Status=0
0x1300 = 00064300
===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 2(2) BSS returned, data->length = 374
==>rt_ioctl_siwfreq::SIOCSIWFREQ[cmd=0x8b04] (Channel=9)
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present
===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 3(3) BSS returned, data->length = 598
==>rt_ioctl_siwfreq::SIOCSIWFREQ[cmd=0x8b04] (Channel=9)
Terminate the TimerQThr_pid=4741!
Terminate the MLMEThr_pid=4739!
Terminate the RTUSBCmdThr_pid=4740!
---> RTMPFreeTxRxRingMemory
<--- ReleaseAdapter
[root@tuxbox sutix]# cp /etc/Wireless/RT2870STA/RT2870STA.dat /etc/Wireless/RT3070STA/RT3070STA.dat
[root@tuxbox sutix]# netcfg2 nwx
:: nwx up                                                       [BUSY]
 > WPA Authentication/Association Failed                        [FAIL]
[root@tuxbox sutix]# ifconfig wlan0 up
[root@tuxbox sutix]# dhcpcd wlan0
dhcpcd: version 5.2.1 starting
dhcpcd: wlan0: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd: timed out

dmesg

===>rt_ioctl_giwscan. 3(3) BSS returned, data->length = 598
==>rt_ioctl_siwfreq::SIOCSIWFREQ[cmd=0x8b04] (Channel=9)
Terminate the TimerQThr_pid=5141!
Terminate the MLMEThr_pid=5139!
Terminate the RTUSBCmdThr_pid=5140!
---> RTMPFreeTxRxRingMemory
<--- ReleaseAdapter
<-- RTMPAllocTxRxRingMemory, Status=0
-->RTUSBVenderReset
<--RTUSBVenderReset
I/F(wlan0) Key1Str is Invalid key length! KeyLen = 0!
I/F(wlan0) Key2Str is Invalid key length! KeyLen = 0!
I/F(wlan0) Key3Str is Invalid key length! KeyLen = 0!
I/F(wlan0) Key4Str is Invalid key length! KeyLen = 0!
1. Phy Mode = 5
2. Phy Mode = 5
3. Phy Mode = 9
MCS Set = ff ff 00 00 01
<==== RTMPInitialize, Status=0
0x1300 = 00064300
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present

Offline

#9 2010-03-11 19:41:41

schuay
Trusted User (TU)
From: Austria
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 564

Re: RT2870 again

That still doesn't look familiar to me.

You don't need RT2870STA.dat with the kernel drivers (at least not as far as I know).

$ modinfo rt2870sta | grep ver
filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.33-ARCH/kernel/drivers/staging/rt2870/rt2870sta.ko
version:        2.1.0.0
description:    RT2870/RT3070 Wireless Lan Linux Driver
srcversion:     0035B7078BB292AE880D636
vermagic:       2.6.33-ARCH SMP preempt mod_unload

What's your output of modinfo rt2870sta?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB