You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-18 14:48:57

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Changing from self-compiled xfce4.2 to Arch package?

A while ago, I installed xfce4.2 RC1 from source - it runs from /usr/local. Now that the Arch package is available, I want to change to that. So what I'm thinking is -

- Backup everything xfce-related in my home.
- Remove the current xfce installation.
- Install the Arch package.
- Restore the xfce directories/files in home.

Am I missing anything here?

Offline

#2 2005-01-18 15:08:15

Jet2k5
Member
Registered: 2004-10-03
Posts: 37

Re: Changing from self-compiled xfce4.2 to Arch package?

Yeah you should remove the old install of xfce4 and just do a ' pacman -S xfce4 ' altho that you might run into some issues about the gtk engines already being on the system.  So what I had to do is use the force option ' pacman -Sf xfce4 ' .  Besides that everything else looks well.

-Luis

Offline

#3 2005-01-18 15:34:23

khazdar
Member
From: ohio
Registered: 2003-11-06
Posts: 123

Re: Changing from self-compiled xfce4.2 to Arch package?

I did the same thing.

1.) Ran idt-uninstaller to remove all XFCE4.2-RC stuff
2.) pacman -Sy xfce4
3.) I downloaded the xfce-termninal installer from os-ocilation because I like     it much more than xterm.
4.) works like a champ.

Why wasn't the xfce-terminal included ?

Offline

#4 2005-01-18 15:48:13

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: Changing from self-compiled xfce4.2 to Arch package?

Thanks guys. I'll go ahead with that tonight so.

Offline

#5 2005-01-25 00:20:08

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: Changing from self-compiled xfce4.2 to Arch package?

I've now installed Arch-packaged xfce4.2, by doing

pacman -S xfce4

I was prompted to confirm that I wanted a listed selection of packages from the xfce4 group, which I did, noting that the "goodies" plugin packages were not included. On the website, the plugins are listed as part of the xfce4 group.

It appears that the only way to install all the plugins is to list them individually in a pacman command e.g.

pacman -S xfce4-battery-plugin xfce4-minicmd-plugin

  etc

Is that what I'll have to do, or is there a shortcut I don't know about?

Offline

#6 2005-01-25 00:23:21

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: Changing from self-compiled xfce4.2 to Arch package?

Never mind.......

pacman -S xfce4-goodies

Offline

#7 2005-01-25 00:23:23

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: Changing from self-compiled xfce4.2 to Arch package?

I'm pretty sure you will have to add them manually since pacman doesn't support using wildcards.

You could try a 'pacman -Ss xfce4' and look for all the plugins that way. Make sure you get xfce4-session as well.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB