You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-21 00:02:51

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

No alarm sound with KOrganizer

I have no alarm sound with KOrganizer. Maybe it needs arts? Does anyone know, and if it doesn't where is my sound?

Offline

#2 2005-01-21 00:20:00

pfrancois
Member
From: paris, france
Registered: 2005-01-15
Posts: 7

Re: No alarm sound with KOrganizer

first question, do you have some sound ? smile

Offline

#3 2005-01-21 03:57:43

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: No alarm sound with KOrganizer

yep, alsa compiled as a module

Offline

#4 2005-01-21 04:18:39

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: No alarm sound with KOrganizer

most likely needs aRTS.

check the KDE control panel for options about sound output also. also, if you haven't already done so, run 'alsaconf' from the command line.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#5 2005-01-24 05:02:43

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: No alarm sound with KOrganizer

Can anyone confirm that it works WITHOUT arts?

Offline

#6 2005-01-25 11:02:30

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: No alarm sound with KOrganizer

The whole KDE suite uses ARTS as audio output system, so yes, you need ARTS to get audio in KDE.

Maybe KDE 4.0 will get rid of ARTS: plans are to switch to gstreamer.

Offline

#7 2005-01-25 12:17:35

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: No alarm sound with KOrganizer

JGC wrote:

Maybe KDE 4.0 will get rid of ARTS: plans are to switch to gstreamer.

maybe wrong place to discuss, but anyway: gstreamer uses much more of CPU for me for now ... hope this will be optimized soon by the gst-devs


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#8 2005-01-26 23:24:44

Shofs
Member
From: Central Illinois
Registered: 2004-12-15
Posts: 184

Re: No alarm sound with KOrganizer

JGC wrote:

The whole KDE suite uses ARTS as audio output system, so yes, you need ARTS to get audio in KDE.

Maybe for some KDE apps or buit in sounds / notifications, but certainly it is not a requirement to get any sound in any app while running KDE.

KDE may depend on arts, but you don't have to use if AFAIK. I don't have the sound sytem option checked to the 'on' position in the control center. I still have sound in other apps.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB