You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-22 18:47:00

ralvy
Member
From: Santa Monica, California
Registered: 2004-12-06
Posts: 275

Update system: a question

I installed Arch 0.6 and couple of months ago, and have been upgrading the system with

pacman -Syu

daily. But will that install new packages that have been added to base that were not part of the 0.6 base install?

Offline

#2 2005-01-22 19:41:16

Jet2k5
Member
Registered: 2004-10-03
Posts: 37

Re: Update system: a question

If it installs packages that were not with the 0.6 base install it's because the system needs them to run properly.  I'm also a Linux N00b so I won't know what these packages might be, but this is just my guess I could be wrong. 

-Luis

Offline

#3 2005-01-22 19:45:05

oscar
Member
From: Linköping, Sweden
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 457

Re: Update system: a question

Yes.
A pacman upgrade will give you a system upgrade, it doesn't matter what version you had when you installed smile


To err is human... to really foul up requires the root password.

Offline

#4 2005-01-22 19:48:45

ralvy
Member
From: Santa Monica, California
Registered: 2004-12-06
Posts: 275

Re: Update system: a question

oscar wrote:

Yes.
A pacman upgrade will give you a system upgrade, it doesn't matter what version you had when you installed smile

Okay. I'm used to Debian's dist-upgrade, and this sounds like what -Syu does.

The reason I was concerned was that the man page on pacman implies that the upgrade option only upgrades installed packages, as opposed to also grabbing new ones in base:

This command will upgrade all packages that are out-of-date on your system by comparing the local package version to the versions in the master package list that gets downloaded with the --refresh command. It's a good idea to run this every now and then to keep your system up to date. 

Offline

#5 2005-01-22 20:05:30

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Update system: a question

Well, first of all, base is a very limited package set. It is pretty much what you need to run the system. One or two packages can be reasonably done without, but not too many.

If you upgrade, and a new package has for some reason been added to base, then no, they will not be grabbed. However, any existing packages on your system will indeed be updated. Again, base hasn't really changed as far as which packages are used in quite a while (not that I know of), just versions of them.

If a package is added, it will most likely have a related dependency, so it would be pulled in with an update of another package requiring it. If it has just been plopped down in base without any dependencies, etc, then likely you would have people talking about it on the forums, and you can just install that package 'pacman -Sy packagename'.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#6 2005-01-22 20:36:27

ralvy
Member
From: Santa Monica, California
Registered: 2004-12-06
Posts: 275

Re: Update system: a question

cactus wrote:

If a package is added, it will most likely have a related dependency, so it would be pulled in with an update of another package requiring it. If it has just been plopped down in base without any dependencies, etc, then likely you would have people talking about it on the forums, and you can just install that package 'pacman -Sy packagename'.

Got it. Easy enough.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB