You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-26 15:59:26

beretta
Member
Registered: 2008-04-21
Posts: 133

cups/avahi problem

Since the cups update, I am no longer able to print from acroread or with any other lp command:

david@columbia ~
 $ which lp
/usr/bin/lp
david@columbia ~
 $ cat test
Printing a test file.
david@columbia ~
 $ lp -d Canon_iP4500_series test
lp: No such file or directory
david@columbia ~
 $ lp
lp: Error - scheduler not responding!
david@columbia ~
 $

/var/log/cups/error_log says:

E [26/Mar/2010:11:48:19 -0400] Unable to set ACLs on root certificate "/var/run/cups/certs/0" - Operation not supported
E [26/Mar/2010:11:48:59 -0400] [CGI] Unable to create avahi client: Resource temporarily unavailable
E [26/Mar/2010:11:48:59 -0400] [cups-deviced] PID 12953 (dnssd) stopped with status 1!
vv

Any ideas?

printers.conf:

# Printer configuration file for CUPS v1.4.2
# Written by cupsd on 2010-03-26 11:49
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE WHEN CUPSD IS RUNNING
<Printer Canon_iP4500_series>
Info Canon iP4500 series
Location 
MakeModel Canon PIXMA iP4500 - CUPS+Gutenprint v5.2.5
DeviceURI usb://Canon/iP4500%20series?serial=6004BB
State Idle
StateTime 1269618563
Type 45084
Filter application/vnd.cups-raw 0 -
Filter application/vnd.cups-raster 100 rastertogutenprint.5.2
Accepting Yes
Shared No
JobSheets none none
QuotaPeriod 0
PageLimit 0
KLimit 0
OpPolicy default
ErrorPolicy stop-printer
</Printer>
<Printer cups-PDF>
Info PDF Printer
Location Local
MakeModel Generic CUPS-PDF Printer
DeviceURI cups-pdf:/
State Idle
StateTime 1266595567
Type 8450124
Filter application/vnd.cups-raw 0 -
Filter application/vnd.cups-command 0 commandtops
Filter application/vnd.cups-postscript 0 -
Accepting Yes
Shared Yes
JobSheets none none
QuotaPeriod 0
PageLimit 0
KLimit 0
OpPolicy default
ErrorPolicy stop-printer
</Printer>

Offline

#2 2010-03-26 19:25:34

AndyRTR
Developer
From: Magdeburg/Germany
Registered: 2005-10-07
Posts: 1,640

Re: cups/avahi problem

Make sure you have cups 1.4.2-5 installed and restarted the server.

Offline

#3 2010-03-26 19:41:34

beretta
Member
Registered: 2008-04-21
Posts: 133

Re: cups/avahi problem

david@columbia ~
 $ pacman -Q cups
cups 1.4.2-5

Restarting cups does not change anything, nor did rebooting the whole system.

Offline

#4 2010-04-02 15:47:24

theking2
Member
From: Romanshorn Switzerland
Registered: 2009-03-04
Posts: 329

Re: cups/avahi problem

same problem here. cups 1.4.3

E [02/Apr/2010:17:42:14 +0200] [CGI] Unable to create avahi client: Resource temporarily unavailable
E [02/Apr/2010:17:42:14 +0200] [cups-deviced] PID 2235 (dnssd) stopped with status 1!

stopping and starting cups daemon does not help.


archlinux on a Gigabyte C1037UN-EU, 16GiB
a Promise  PDC40718 based ZFS set
root on a Samsung SSD PB22-J
running LogitechMediaServer(-git), Samba, MiniDLNA, TOR

Offline

#5 2010-04-04 14:46:57

smileoa
Member
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 8

Re: cups/avahi problem

same problem here. cups 1.4.3-1

E [04/Apr/2010:22:29:49 +0800] [CGI] Unable to create avahi client: Resource temporarily unavailable
E [04/Apr/2010:22:29:49 +0800] [cups-deviced] PID 3757 (dnssd) stopped with status 1!
E [04/Apr/2010:22:31:14 +0800] Unable to set ACLs on root certificate "/var/run/cups/certs/0" - Operation not supported


Test page is normal.but all soft don't find printer.

Last edited by smileoa (2010-04-04 14:51:34)

Offline

#6 2010-06-02 16:53:05

whereareyouall
Member
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 11

Re: cups/avahi problem

Solved! At last, it was driving me crazy ....

The cups client cannot access the cups server. Edit /etc/cups/client.conf and replace
ServerName /var/run/cups/cups.sock
with
127.0.0.1:9100

Edit:

I am no CUPS expert, but did the cups behavior change with one of the last updates? /var/run/cups/cups.sock doesn't exist anymore ...

Last edited by whereareyouall (2010-06-02 17:01:43)

Offline

#7 2011-01-15 00:12:13

andrej.podzimek
Member
From: Zlín, Czech Republic
Registered: 2005-04-10
Posts: 81
Website

Re: cups/avahi problem

The socket does exist right now, but the problem persists up to now. This s.c.s, to say the least. This is not related to the socket. BTW, there is no port 9100 in use. Why should it be configured in the client's configuration? (Presumably, it does not help.)

Offline

#8 2011-05-21 09:29:56

sandman667
Member
Registered: 2010-08-28
Posts: 2

Re: cups/avahi problem

Same here..
Editing /etc/cups/client.conf did not help here, either.
I'm using a Brother MFC7320, which worked fine under debian; with Arch, cups sees the printer just fine, but is not even able to print a test page (Status page says "Busy - waiting for printer to become available').

Any ideas?

Last edited by sandman667 (2011-05-21 09:31:55)

Offline

#9 2011-07-20 21:03:25

ludwis
Member
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 29

Re: cups/avahi problem

It may be a bit late but I had a similar problem lately and the solution was simple. The log clearly states that cups daemon doesn't have access to avahi service. I had avahi installed but it wasn't running. So the solution was to run avahi-daemon. There is an enlinghtening article in Arch Wiki on the subject.

Offline

#10 2011-07-21 09:23:03

sandman667
Member
Registered: 2010-08-28
Posts: 2

Re: cups/avahi problem

Yeah, I've noticed that, too; adding avahi-daemon to the daemons list, starting it and restarting cups didn't change anything..

By now, I can print from the machine the printer is connected to, solution was a udev-rule (Thanks unexist!):
/etc/udev/rules.d/10-usbprinter.rules:

ATTR{idVendor}=="04f9", ATTR{idProduct}=="01eb", MODE:="0660", GROUP:="lp"

However, cups currently seems unable to share the printer. This worked a few weeks ago, now CUPS on other machines can't see the printer any more, although all the settings are the same...
Also, the scanner doesn't show up in "scanimage -L" any more, neither as root nor as user..

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB