You are not logged in.

#26 2010-04-02 16:58:58

goetzkluge
Member
From: Munich
Registered: 2009-05-05
Posts: 60
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

== Workaround for Thunar ==

Clicking the 1st time on a subfolder works. In the subfolder then you get stuck.

Workaround: Cursor on subfolder. Then open it in a new window. Etc.

Temporarily that will do :-)

Happy Easter to the Archlinux maintainers. I'll stick to this nice distribution.


a few seconds later:
Changing the settings in Thunar to "single click" also solves the problem.
However, after running an an application with wants double click, you have to restart Thunar.

Last edited by goetzkluge (2010-04-02 17:45:36)

Offline

#27 2010-04-03 01:14:23

lasu1
Member
Registered: 2010-02-10
Posts: 83

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Yeah, I got the problem too...I can confirm that singleclick works perfectly well...I kinda like single click better anyway lol.

Single click option is in Edit|Preferences|Behavior.

I'm not experiencing any problems with Firefox, etc after update...only Thunar.

Offline

#28 2010-04-03 16:37:29

smileoa
Member
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 8

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Same problem,  pcmanfm

Offline

#29 2010-04-03 21:28:32

eNTi
Member
Registered: 2006-04-30
Posts: 109

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

same here for thunar.

Offline

#30 2010-04-04 17:14:51

Dirk Sohler
Member
From: Hamburg, Germany
Registered: 2009-10-03
Posts: 109

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

I just downgreaded to GTK 2.18.9-2 (this includes downgrading some other pacages too).

Works fine here (even if it's not up to date right now.

Offline

#31 2010-04-05 20:38:22

xamaco
Member
From: Corsica, France
Registered: 2010-04-05
Posts: 87

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

I did a downgrade to GTK 2.18.9-2. Thunar and pcmanfm work fine. Gimp has retrieved the zoom factor (among other things) in the status bar... Nevertheless, I would not recommend to anyone going on the downgrade path. Way too many dependencies. I'm far of being an expert on this, but I know that blocking all these updates [ in pacman.conf (IgnorePkg = ...)] is going to hit me back really hard one of these days.

The upgrade to gnome 2.30 was a major upgrade. And we got only minor annoyances...

Offline

#32 2010-04-06 14:36:02

bruno321
Member
From: Montevideo, Uruguay
Registered: 2010-03-05
Posts: 86

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Please let us know when this has been fixed so I can safely upgrade. As of today I get these package upgrades if I pacman -Syu:

Objetivos (57): glib2-2.24.0-1  atk-1.30.0-1  bison-2.4.2-1  pango-1.28.0-1 
                gtk2-2.20.0-1  libxml2-2.7.7-1  libidl2-0.8.14-1 
                orbit2-2.14.18-1  gconf-2.28.1-1  chromium-5.0.342.9-1 
                device-mapper-2.02.61-1  e2fsprogs-1.41.11-1 
                gnome-icon-theme-2.30.0-1  gnome-keyring-2.30.0-1 
                libgnome-keyring-2.30.0-1  evince-2.30.0-1  feh-1.4.2-2 
                xulrunner-1.9.2.3-1  firefox-3.6.3-1  libsigc++2.0-2.2.5-1 
                glibmm-2.24.0-1  lsof-4.83-1  udisks-1.0.0-2 
                libunique-1.1.6-2  gnome-disk-utility-2.30.1-1 
                gnome-vfs-2.24.3-1  grep-2.6.3-1  gtkmm-2.20.0-1 
                libsoup-2.30.0-1  libsoup-gnome-2.30.0-1  gvfs-1.6.0-1 
                imagemagick-6.6.0.10-1  jre-6u19-2  libart-lgpl-2.3.21-1 
                libbonobo-2.24.3-1  libgnome-2.30.0-1 
                libgnomecanvas-2.30.1-1  libbonoboui-2.24.3-1 
                libgnomeui-2.24.3-1  libgtop-2.28.1-1  librsvg-2.26.2-1 
                lvm2-2.02.61-1  mesa-7.7.1-0.1  mlocate-0.22.4-1 
                mpg123-1.12.1-1  numlockx-1.2-1  oxygen-icons-4.4.2-1 
                perl-io-socket-ssl-1.33-1  perl-uri-1.54-1  pixman-0.18.0-1 
                libffi-3.0.9-1  pygobject-2.21.1-1  pygtk-2.17.0-1 
                qbittorrent-2.2.2-1  tzdata-2010g-1  wine-1.1.42-1 
                xterm-256-1

I wouldn't like to break pcmanfm.

Offline

#33 2010-04-06 15:49:46

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Unfortunately this bug hasn't even been confirmed or assigned yet.  Hopefully Arch will take this seriously since it renders the default FMs for at least two DEs unusable.  Perhaps a bug should be filed against gtk since that seems responsible?

Offline

#34 2010-04-06 15:53:45

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

pcmanfm works fine here ............

Offline

#35 2010-04-06 17:39:02

ontin000
Member
From: Carrollton, VA
Registered: 2010-04-06
Posts: 4

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

+1 for thunar

Offline

#36 2010-04-06 20:28:55

rougebrik
Member
Registered: 2010-04-06
Posts: 6

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Same problem with thunar here.

Offline

#37 2010-04-06 22:40:45

nstoyanov
Member
Registered: 2009-04-24
Posts: 26

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

IgnorantGuru wrote:

Unfortunately this bug hasn't even been confirmed or assigned yet.  Hopefully Arch will take this seriously since it renders the default FMs for at least two DEs unusable.  Perhaps a bug should be filed against gtk since that seems responsible?

You mean something like this: https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=612802 ?

In my experience Arch Linux is rarely the cause of any breakage. This is the beauty of Arch -- that it always pushes the latest and greatest and forces users to discover upstream bugs.

Offline

#38 2010-04-08 12:16:58

Anril
Member
Registered: 2009-12-29
Posts: 11

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

same problem here

Offline

#39 2010-04-08 12:20:36

pshr
Member
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 36

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Same problems with pcmanfm.

Offline

#40 2010-04-08 17:36:34

rougebrik
Member
Registered: 2010-04-06
Posts: 6

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Offline

#41 2010-04-08 19:45:56

MrTux
Member
Registered: 2009-06-30
Posts: 1

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

== 2010-04-09 ==
Same problems with pcmanfm.

Offline

#42 2010-04-09 00:38:16

Dirk Sohler
Member
From: Hamburg, Germany
Registered: 2009-10-03
Posts: 109

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Yes … still b0rked sad

Offline

#43 2010-04-09 19:53:05

uwinkelvos
Member
Registered: 2009-06-07
Posts: 128

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

same her with pcmanfm and thunar, but not with nautilus. Btw navigating with keyboard works fine for me. edit: ...  if i did not double click anything before.

Last edited by uwinkelvos (2010-04-09 19:54:12)

Offline

#44 2010-04-09 23:34:47

iopo
Member
Registered: 2009-10-26
Posts: 31

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Same here with thunar when set "View as detailed list".
I also use emeLFM2, that has no problems at all.

Offline

#45 2010-04-10 11:25:53

brozo
Member
From: Maribor, Slovenia
Registered: 2009-07-23
Posts: 18

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

I did an update to gtk2 2.20-2 today, and double-click with detailed list view in Thunar still doesn't work.

Offline

#46 2010-04-12 16:02:57

juggz
Member
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 18

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Ditto, same clicking problem after upgrade with both Thunar and PCManFM. Can't click on files either once it stops working...

Offline

#47 2010-04-12 16:50:22

codernem
Member
Registered: 2008-01-20
Posts: 9

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Same problem here... quite annoying, I would say tongue

Offline

#48 2010-04-12 17:53:16

daf666
Member
Registered: 2007-04-08
Posts: 470
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Yeah here too in thunar.. what I do is Ctrl-1-2 for a quick fix...

Offline

#49 2010-04-14 22:08:02

charlieapples
Member
Registered: 2010-03-28
Posts: 16

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

same problem with Thunar - confirm that switching to single click to activate files is a valid workaround. Good luck upstream people wink

Offline

#50 2010-04-15 05:43:07

rougebrik
Member
Registered: 2010-04-06
Posts: 6

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Updated thunar (1.0.1-6) ... still the same shit here.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB