You are not logged in.

#51 2010-04-15 07:10:05

KingX
Member
From: Fremont, CA
Registered: 2010-03-24
Posts: 321

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Yeah, the new Thunar build, unfortunately, did not fix it sad

Offline

#52 2010-04-15 15:01:15

Miles28
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2008-08-31
Posts: 82

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

New thunar package, the same problem.
But I've found emelfm2, which is a cool file manager for me. tongue

Offline

#53 2010-04-18 18:47:57

aboutblank
Member
Registered: 2010-04-14
Posts: 9

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Thunar still broken :-(

Offline

#54 2010-04-19 12:41:50

alecmg
Member
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 86

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Made me like mc even more
But hope they fix this soon


Xyne wrote:
"We've got Pacman. Wacka wacka, bitches!"

Offline

#55 2010-04-20 05:29:22

receptor
Member
Registered: 2010-04-20
Posts: 1

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

FYI: I'm having the exact same trouble in Debian Testing. Definitely an upstream thing.

Offline

#56 2010-04-20 08:32:23

Loafers
Member
Registered: 2009-11-01
Posts: 92

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Same problem here.

Offline

#57 2010-04-20 14:11:23

mips1
Member
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 99

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Same here.

Offline

#58 2010-04-20 14:58:47

geniuz
Member
Registered: 2010-04-10
Posts: 127

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Yes, me too, just fired up pcmanfm to check it out. What better opportunity can one get for enhancing ones CLI skills!

Last edited by geniuz (2010-04-20 14:59:05)

Offline

#59 2010-04-21 01:18:44

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

I have included a workaround for this issue in my mod of pcmanfm, and will be submitting some detailed info to the GTK people on it shortly.  If you use pcmanfm then this mod, available in the AUR should not exhibit the problem.  Just uninstall pcmanfm and use yaourt or similar to install pcmanfm-mod

http://igurublog.wordpress.com/downloads/mod-pcmanfm/
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=34819

Offline

#60 2010-04-21 01:35:12

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

I added what I found about this problem here...
https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=612802#c12

Offline

#61 2010-04-21 02:31:28

Allan
Member
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,858
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Instead of putting a soon to be redundant package in the AUR, why not post the patch to the Arch bug report so that the package gets fixed?

Offline

#62 2010-04-21 02:36:58

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Allan wrote:

Instead of putting a soon to be redundant package in the AUR, why not post the patch to the Arch bug report so that the package gets fixed?

I didn't fix the bug, I merely avoided it.  The bug itself is not in pcmanfm (nor presumably in thunar), but in GTK/exo.  I posted the info I have to the GTK and Arch bugs to help the GTK people locate the problem.  If you want a patch for pcmanfm 0.5.2 to avoid the bug, see my comment here

Also, pcmanfm-mod has been in the AUR for months, as it adds other functions - I merely updated it.

EDIT:  Also still, it should be noted that the stable pcmanfm (0.5.2) in the repos is no longer in development, and it is *highly* unlikely that the author will revise it to workaround this bug.  So options are: use my mod, patch 0.5.2 yourself, or wait for the bug in GTK to be fixed.

Last edited by IgnorantGuru (2010-04-21 03:16:44)

Offline

#63 2010-04-21 02:45:00

Allan
Member
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,858
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Ok, thanks for the clarification.    I just really hate packages being added to the AUR that will need to be removed in a short time... tongue

Offline

#64 2010-04-21 04:02:31

smakked
Member
From: Gold Coast , Australia
Registered: 2008-08-14
Posts: 420

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

same here with pcmanfm2, but only in list view, icon view is fine


Certified Android Junkie
Arch 64

Offline

#65 2010-04-30 17:52:14

pichulines
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2009-06-26
Posts: 22
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

yeah, pcmanfm-mod worked for me. thanks

Offline

#66 2010-05-01 09:15:32

skai
Member
Registered: 2009-03-01
Posts: 34

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Just to mention I have the same problem, and XFBurn is also concerned by the bug.
(as many other apps using file browsinf I suppose)

sadly pcmanfm-mod tar.gz is not available right now. I'll be patient wink

Offline

#67 2010-05-01 23:41:16

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

skai wrote:

sadly pcmanfm-mod tar.gz is not available right now. I'll be patient wink

Thanks for letting me know - one of the server boxes seems to be down.  I have placed it on sourceforge, which I've been meaning to do anyway.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/pcmanfm-mod/

And I just updated the AUR to use that new download location as well...
http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=34819

Instructions are still at http://igurublog.wordpress.com/downloads/mod-pcmanfm/

Offline

#68 2010-05-05 05:24:20

rougebrik
Member
Registered: 2010-04-06
Posts: 6

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

today gtk2 update does not fix the issue.

Offline

#69 2010-05-05 15:13:39

Coacher
Guest

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

rougebrik wrote:

today gtk2 update does not fix the issue.

Same here. Interesting, why repos'  version of pcmanfm is 0.5.2 while here(http://sourceforge.net/projects/pcmanfm/) it is 0.9.5?

#70 2010-05-05 15:33:43

IgnorantGuru
Member
Registered: 2009-11-09
Posts: 640
Website

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Coacher wrote:

Same here. Interesting, why repos'  version of pcmanfm is 0.5.2 while here(http://sourceforge.net/projects/pcmanfm/) it is 0.9.5?

0.9.5 (aka pcmanfm2) is a rewrite, which last I knew was still in alpha testing.  I have updated the wiki to explain the version numbering...
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/PCM … e_Versions

As for the GTK bug, they have been given plenty of information but have stalled in doing anything.  This is becoming quite a problem in linux.  Libraries like GTK are carefully written and apps written based on them, then programmers fix bugs in those libraries carelessly, causing breakage to older apps, and don't do any followup to see what their changes did.  The person who broke this is probably blissfully unaware of the number of apps he has broken, and no one else wants to deal with it.  For older software like pcmanfm 0.5.2 which is no longer maintained, this is really a problem.

Besides my pcmanfm-mod, pcmanfm2 alpha (0.9.5) has also been patched to workaround this GTK bug.  The Thunar people will probably have to do the same because the GTK devs don't seem to mind that they broke everyone's apps for over a month now.

Offline

#71 2010-05-05 15:57:35

Coacher
Guest

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Thanks for the explanation IgnorantGuru

#72 2010-05-12 14:58:07

sheekeebut
Member
Registered: 2010-03-24
Posts: 16

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

This is brutal. I updated last night and only then did this start happening to my Thunar. Time to look around for other FMs...

The ctrl1-ctrl2 (heheh, the ol' one-two) workaround works okay, but I guess I should just learn to use terminal.

Offline

#73 2010-05-22 21:10:15

nstoyanov
Member
Registered: 2009-04-24
Posts: 26

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

Good news -- the update to XFCE 4.6.2 includes new versions of Thunar and exo and the problem appears to be gone!

Offline

#74 2010-05-22 23:48:47

Bahumat
Member
From: Muelheim, Germany
Registered: 2008-07-21
Posts: 48

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

yes, it seems so :-)

Offline

#75 2010-05-23 01:25:41

alesscor
Member
From: Costa Rica
Registered: 2010-04-02
Posts: 4

Re: Todays Updates (01.04.10) broke pcmanfm /thunar

nstoyanov wrote:

Good news -- the update to XFCE 4.6.2 includes new versions of Thunar and exo and the problem appears to be gone!

Yeap: Thunar "Detailed list" view mode works fine after this upgrade


Arch i686 w XFCE on Acer Aspire One

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB