You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-27 15:19:42

trey
Member
From: Alpharetta, GA
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 73

No boot loader

I installed arch on a second hard drive configured as a slave.  I was going to access it in a multiboot environment, so I didn't install a bootloader thinking that I could use a bootmanager like GAG to access Arch.  However, this must have been a mistake as when I point GAG to the Arch partition, which it sees, I get an error stating 'Sector boot not found or invalid'

sad

Is there a way, without doing a reinstall, that I can put a bootloader on the Arch's root partition on the 2nd drive?

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2005-01-28 10:35:32

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: No boot loader

What boot manager are you using currently? If it's grub or lilo, you can edit the relevant config file so you get a boot menu at start up.

Otherwise, boot up using a Live CD (Knoppix etc) chroot into the Arch filesystem, and use pacman to install grub (recommended) or lilo, on dev/hdb1 - that's assuming that Arch is the first partition on the second hard drive.

Offline

#3 2005-01-28 15:26:01

trey
Member
From: Alpharetta, GA
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 73

Re: No boot loader

Well, after the trouble I had with other distros I installed on this drive as well, I ended up just doing fresh installs.

Thanks for the reply.

Offline

#4 2005-01-29 16:46:22

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: No boot loader

You could replace GAG by LILO or Grub to load both OS'es (on at a time obviously wink). I think that's easiest.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB