You are not logged in.

#1 2010-04-13 21:19:30

saft

Graphic design, desktop publishing, image management, web development?

I'm a university student studying graphic design in the uk. During workshops, we are basically only taught how to use Adobe CS4 on Macs. I've been looking into what tools are available for linux, hoping to find some quirky apps for creating/editing images, page layouts, managing large collections of images, developing websites, creating motion graphics, or producing my module file, which is a large document containing research including images, text, etc.

Looking around, the same software seems to pop up - gimp, inkscape, photoshop CS2 on wine (thanks for that, google!), latex, scribus. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for software, for any of the tasks listed above? Or any individual applications which perform a single aspect particularly well? Any software which has a more interesting use / function / outcome than the standard mac or windows equivalent? Something which might set my work or workflow apart from the technologically backward point-and-click mac users?

For example, I'm currently collating all my notes as a Zim wiki, with links to my briefs as PDF files. I can import text, images, and then export a wiki site with a custom css theme to give to my tutors when assessment comes. They'll love that cool It's not something I'd ever have considered doing on a Windows machine.

Go! smile

Last edited by saft (2010-04-13 21:21:27)

#2 2010-04-17 23:04:41

Unltd

Re: Graphic design, desktop publishing, image management, web development?

personally nothing can replace photoshop, gimp always feels more like a substitute rather than a replacement (IMO)