You are not logged in.

#1 2010-04-15 08:46:17

CleanCode

Migrating from Windows to Linux

Hello,

this is my first post, so I have to say that I am big fan of GNU/Linux. I love the philosophy behind open source world.

Right now, I am still Windows 7 user. But I am making my backups and I will be ready to move on soon. Unfortunately, I have very little Linux knowledge. So I need small help, actually big one. smile

What do I want?

Clean, fast, bleeding edge system. - ArchLinux

1)I've got laptop HP 4510s and the first issue is installing kernel 2.6.33+ because I need my wifi working (Broadcom bcm4312 rev 01). How can I do it the easiest way?

2) I want very clean and fast system, so I choosed Openbox as my window manager. My final dream looks like this [1] [2] [3].

What do I need for BlackWhite Theme?
Openbox, tint2, conky. What about gtk theme? What package should I use?

Can I use every single application even for Gnome or Kde with Openbox without having installed Gnome/Kde? How? Or can you describe me how it works, please?

3) Now applications:

Jabber (OpenPGP encryption) - Psi
Outlook - I like Kmail (Native OpenPGP support). Is it possible to have Kmail without whole KDE and with Openbox? Is Kmail fast?
Emacs, Nano - file editing (Emacs has steep learning curve so Nano is there only for emergency use.)
File manager - I am used to native Windows Explorer. But I would like to use efficient, productive tool (Emacs/Vim philosophy).
uTorrent - What torrent client is similar to uTorrent? I have such a great time with him.
FTP Client - I use FileZilla. What is you favourite in Linux?
Wifi Network settings - What can I use to have all my settings in system tray like at Windows?

Thank you for your answers! Live long and prosper Linux cool

Last edited by CleanCode (2010-04-18 18:58:23)

#2 2010-04-15 09:18:27

Ber
Website

Re: Migrating from Windows to Linux