You are not logged in.

#1 2010-04-17 18:34:18

tomislavski

udev vs HAL

O.K. I'm really confused.

First of all, just to save myself some embarassement: I am a noob.

I am having trouble with automounting my CD/DVDs ... I won't go on about it in this thread, because this would be wrong. What I would like is some help with understanding the differences and similarities between HAL and udev. I have been reading a lot about them on the Wiki, their development pages, wikipedia, etc, and now I think my head will explode, because I just don't freakin get it.

udev is a daemon that listens to kernel messages regarding the devices in the system. This is done so because the /dev part of the filesystem is filled with all kinds of crap ever mounted or connected to the filesystem. After it hears something like "hey, a device, its name and arguments are: blah" it will try to look this device up in the set of rules that the user writes for this device and mount this device in the filesystem accordingly. So, this means that the udev operations are done on the filesystem level, not the application level (Thunar, Openbox, whatever). This means that if I write a udev rule for my CDs and DVDs (/dev/sr0, but how to distinguish them? Why distinguish them at all?), they would get mounted to some directory, like /media/thankYouDearLordFinallyItWorksThankYou if I write such a rule.

Where the hell is HAL in this? I have read that the udev daemon will redirect the change in the filesystem (after it has mounted or dealt with the device following the rules) to HAL or DeviceKit (Fedora?) and they will inform everyone else through this d-bus thing. How then is HAL on a lower level than kernel?

Why then is the HAL described as a low level implementation of code that interoperates on a lower level than the kernel at the hardware level and it communicates to the hardware even lower than the API?