You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-31 20:50:15

shadowhunter
Member
Registered: 2003-10-08
Posts: 26

Adding gnome menu items

Hi again arch users;

I am not able to add xmms to gnome menu... :S

I created a working launcher and added it to applications-all-users:///multimedia.
The .desktop file exists. It shows in nautilius both doesn't in the menu. rebooting or logging in again did not help. the .desktop is also in /opt/gnome/share/applications.

And at last I tried making the .desktop myself without any luck. Only the default .desktops of packages show.

Does anyone of you have a solution for this?

btw. I am using the current gnome in pacman 2.8.x

Geert.

Offline

#2 2005-01-31 22:54:52

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,660

Re: Adding gnome menu items

Found it:
/opt/gnome/etc/gnome-vfs-2.0/vfolders/applications.vfolder-info-default:

<VFolderInfo>
  <WriteDir>~/.gnome2/vfolders/applications</WriteDir>

  <Folder>
    <Name>Root</Name>
    <Parent>applications-all-users:///</Parent>

    <!-- Settings -->
    <Folder>
      <Name>Preferences</Name>
      <ParentLink>preferences:///</ParentLink>
    </Folder>

  </Folder>
</VFolderInfo>

That file is missing on arch, found it on a debian box, will commit it tomorrow if it helps.

Offline

#3 2005-02-01 11:36:10

shadowhunter
Member
Registered: 2003-10-08
Posts: 26

Re: Adding gnome menu items

No, it didn't help...

Read how it is possible for a single user... that worked. But global menu items don't seem to work.

In fact, Totem has disappeared from my root account! pacman -R, pacman -S didn't help... This is something strange...

Read somewhere something about a problem with glib...

Geert.

Offline

#4 2005-02-03 17:02:21

aias
Member
Registered: 2004-06-28
Posts: 39

Re: Adding gnome menu items

That's really strange.  I have added menu items myself - into /opt/gnome/share/applications and they all show up fine in global space.  did you already check the one line that lists what kind of an item it is to show up in the correct menu like:
GNOME;applications;multimedia;
or something like that?
what do you mean totem disappeared from your root account?  it doesn't show up when you do
pacman -Ss totem?

Offline

#5 2005-02-05 09:12:41

siimo
Member
Registered: 2004-09-02
Posts: 34

Re: Adding gnome menu items

thanks to swim on #archlinux on freenode for this workaround: to add a new menu right click > add new item to this menu > goto advanced tab and type the command needed to execute the program in "Try this before using:" and proceed to add the item.

According to Blaasvis this is a known bug and will be fixed in 2.10.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB