You are not logged in.

#1 2010-05-02 21:48:52

unplugged23

Boots into grub shell

Hello everyone big_smile

I am brand new to arch, and have just attempted my first netinstall. The installation seemed to run smoothly, and I followed along on the beginner installation guide. I finished the installation and rebooted, and this is where the problem comes in. I assume I must have made some kind of an error while installing grub, because the computer loads into a kind of grub shell, which looks like this...

GNU GRUB version 0.97  (638K lower / 980928k upper memory)

[ Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible completions of a device / filename. ]

grub>

I'm not quite sure what I need to do from here. After a quick google I found http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB, and skimmed untill I got to something that looked relevant.

The following example is for systems with a separate /boot partition:

grub> find /grub/stage1

I let the installer auto partition my external hard drive, and I'm nearly positive it added a 100mb boot partition. I thought this might help locate some kind of a file that GRUB was missing for whatever reason, but the output of the above command is:

Error15: File not found

If someone could help me get the boot loader up and working that would be awesome! As a sidenote, I am (at least attempting) to dual boot windows and arch.

All help is appriciated big_smile

Don't worry, the worst is yet to come. smile

#2 2010-05-02 23:03:59

grey

Re: Boots into grub shell

"nearly positive"? Well, just to make sure do find /boot/grub/stage1.

Good ideas do not need lots of lies told about them in order to gain public acceptance.

#3 2010-05-02 23:29:44

unplugged23

I already have, it returns:

Error 15: File not found

#4 2010-05-02 23:46:01

unplugged23

I have tried mounting the kernel by

kernel=/vmlinuz

*TAB*

The error