You are not logged in.

#1 2010-05-12 06:49:43

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Wifi not working after bios upgrade. [SOLVED]

Hi All,

I have just upgraded my bios to correct a freq scaling issue and have noticed that WiFi is no longer working.

In dmesg I notice:

p54pci 0000:06:00.0: PCI INT A disabled
p54pci: probe of 0000:06:00.0 failed with error -110

Looks like something to do with IRQ allocation for that PCI slot, does anyone know how to fix this?
I have scoured my motherboard manual, but see nothing about IRQ allocation to PCI slots  ... and I am not even certain this is the problem.

All I know is, that my prism54 card in that slot worked fine before the BIOS update.

Thanks,
B

Last edited by bmentink (2010-05-12 22:25:15)

Offline

#2 2010-05-12 08:41:21

zenlord
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-05-24
Posts: 1,218
Website

Re: Wifi not working after bios upgrade. [SOLVED]

Maybe rebuild the kernel and prism*-packages?

Offline

#3 2010-05-12 10:06:04

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Wifi not working after bios upgrade. [SOLVED]

zenlord wrote:

Maybe rebuild the kernel and prism*-packages?

How will that help?

Offline

#4 2010-05-12 10:39:39

zenlord
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-05-24
Posts: 1,218
Website

Re: Wifi not working after bios upgrade. [SOLVED]

I thought maybe some BIOS settings affect certain packages, and since it is clearly the prism-driver that is not working, I could not come up with a better package than the driver itself and the package holding the complete wifi-stack.

Offline

#5 2010-05-12 22:24:03

bmentink
Member
From: New Zealand
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 442

Re: Wifi not working after bios upgrade. [SOLVED]

Hi, I found the issue.

When I did the BIOS update, I did a reboot to try out new settings etc ... this however was not good enough.

On googling around on the error, I found that the solution is to shutdown the box completely .. wait for the caps to discharge, then restart the box.

The card then started to work fine.

I guess the problem is one I have found at times with cards that require firmware, It is only when you do a complete powerdown like this, that the card resets correctly and
re-loads it's firmware .... I have had this issue show up in different ways on other cards (i.e DVB cards not loading there firmware).

I guess in this case the card retained some settings from the old BIOS which was not compatible with the new BIOS.

Marking as solved.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB