You are not logged in.

#1 2005-02-04 13:33:52

im_ka
Member
Registered: 2004-03-07
Posts: 118

gnome needs "hald"?

whenever i try to do settings for removable media in gnome, i get this error:

"The "hald" service is required but not currently running. Enable the service and rerun this applet, or contact your system administrator."

what could be done?
thanks in advance

Offline

#2 2005-02-04 17:21:24

Gullible Jones
Member
Registered: 2004-12-29
Posts: 4,863

Re: gnome needs "hald"?

HALD is the hardware abstraction layer daemon. Add it to the daemons list in /etc/rc.conf and start it up.

(Oh BTW: It's called "hal" in Arch, not "hald".)

Offline

#3 2005-02-04 17:47:04

im_ka
Member
Registered: 2004-03-07
Posts: 118

Re: gnome needs "hald"?

Gullible Jones wrote:

HALD is the hardware abstraction layer daemon. Add it to the daemons list in /etc/rc.conf and start it up.

(Oh BTW: It's called "hal" in Arch, not "hald".)

thanks for the reply.
where should i add it? i mean the order. can i put it anywhere?

Offline

#4 2005-02-04 18:18:59

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: gnome needs "hald"?

Anywhere after dbus (dbus is needed for hal to work).

Offline

#5 2005-02-04 21:00:16

im_ka
Member
Registered: 2004-03-07
Posts: 118

Re: gnome needs "hald"?

lucke wrote:

Anywhere after dbus (dbus is needed for hal to work).

that was it. dbus was not installed as a dependency of hal. i will submit a bugreport

Offline

#6 2005-02-04 21:12:16

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,017

Re: gnome needs "hald"?

It wasn't? It is put in the 'depends' field, at least in the newest PKGBUILD.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB