You are not logged in.

#1 2010-06-09 18:04:01

junkman351

Internet woes

I'm fairly new to Arch and thus far I prefer it over all the other distros I've tried, except for one problem.

Before I get to it I would like to point out I used to run Crunchbang and downloaded many a 10+gb torrent without the slighest problem.

My problem is torrent downloading with Arch. For whatever reason it seems to choke my modem up. The torrent will start out nicely,
then over time, usually a few minutes, it will choke and then cause my modem to reset. After it reconnects my torrent downloading goes
back to normal until the next disconnect. I've narrowed it down to torrents, as I downloaded a few distros direct with the torrents paused and I could get up and over 800kbs without my modem choking and resetting.

I've tried lowering the amount of connections and it doesn't seem to help. I also changed some firewall settings on my modem to no avail.

I haven't tried calling my ISP(AT&T) yet as I want to confirm if the problem is on my end first. At first I thought it might be the ISP but I've tested without the torrents going and I can game online for hours on end without even a hiccup in the connection. Start a torrent and its nearly impossible to get in a single game of CoD without timing out.

Since I'm still an Arch noob I was wondering if there is anything I can do to fix this, that I may not know of, and If anyone else has had similar problems. I'm almost certain it has something to do with Arch seeing how the problem didn't exist 4 days ago when I still ran Crunchbang.

Also if it matters I connect via wifi with this system.

Any additional information you guys may need simply ask and I will provide. Thanks.

#2 2010-06-09 18:32:50

lucke

Re: Internet woes

What torrent client are you using and what were you using in crunchbang?

-edit-

You should try liming the number of connections.

Last edited by lucke (2010-06-09 18:34:41)

#3 2010-06-10 04:24:35

junkman351