You are not logged in.

#1 2010-06-10 01:57:48

BlackHat

Arch Linux as a development environment.

How many Archers use Arch for development? If so, what areas are you developing in? I am primarily into biomedical image analysis and I have begun to dabble in AI.

#2 2010-06-10 12:13:13

SiC

Re: Arch Linux as a development environment.

I use arch as a dev platform, it's no better or worse than any other Linux distribution, except maybe having more up to date packages.

For reference purposes, I develop in MATLAB mostly, and make extensive use of R and C apps, most recently I've started doing some GPGPU work using Open CL but i'm still learning, not hit any problems using Arch for any of this.

#3 2010-06-10 12:49:40

Trent

I do some amateur stuff on Arch -- all my professional coding (if you can call my Perl code professional, ha ha) is done on a Fedora box by SSH.  But I'm working on some CGI in Perl and trying to learn C++ on the side.  Not counting a few dozen scripts I've written to perform odd jobs (mostly Perl).

For my Web-dev environment, I have lighttpd with just mod_cgi and standard Perl.  Nothing fancy, but it works.

#4 2010-06-10 13:13:42

stqn
Website

More or less hobby stuff:
- a small platform game (D programming language, SDL)
- a GTK GUI to display dmd's profiling information
- trying to port the music composing software Musagi (C++, SDL, OpenGL) to Linux when I'm motivated enough.
- occasionaly trying to write Firefox extensions without success.

Last edited by stqn (2010-06-10 13:14:47)

#5 2010-06-10 14:11:06

samuele.mattiuzzo
Website

[1]university and [2]work development mainly, [3] hobby in my spare time

[1] Java (with eclipse), C (threads and semaphores, using vim), caml (vim again), octave

[2] lot of html / javascript / php / xml for collaborations with some companies and C / Processing language for my main job, which is developing for Arduino platform