You are not logged in.

#1 2010-06-12 17:08:40

binskipy2u
Banned
Registered: 2009-09-14
Posts: 212

making 32bit kernel see 4gigs+ of system memory?

is this possible? and is there a how-to , or does anyone have concise directions.. I would like to install wine to run a few of the windows apps I like.. but wine32-bin is a pain to install and maintain, plus if there's strange issues, since the repo is unsupported, i dont want to get in a bind if something goes haywire during an update..
or is there a 64bit version of wine yet? even an alpha,beta?
I havent seen one using pacman -Ss wine (i'm on 64bit now)
thanks for any help or information


"Sometimes you comfort the afflicted, other times you AFFLICT the COMFORTABLE"

Offline

#2 2010-06-12 17:29:48

Stebalien
Member
Registered: 2010-04-27
Posts: 1,237
Website

Re: making 32bit kernel see 4gigs+ of system memory?

You need PAE. You can use this PKGBUILD from aur http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=24469.


Steven [ web : git ]
GPG:  327B 20CE 21EA 68CF A7748675 7C92 3221 5899 410C
Do not email: honeypot@stebalien.com

Offline

#3 2010-06-12 18:03:28

demian
Member
From: Frankfurt, Germany
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 709

Re: making 32bit kernel see 4gigs+ of system memory?

There was a thread about PAE but i can't find it right now so I'll just ask here:

I chose not to use x86_64 for various reasons and I'm totally ok with 3 GB of RAM, but i wouldn't mind one GB more, if there were no real downsides to it.
So, would you recommend using PAE with 4 GB of RAM?

Regards,
demian

Last edited by demian (2010-06-12 18:04:16)


no place like /home
github

Offline

#4 2010-06-12 18:41:57

Stebalien
Member
Registered: 2010-04-27
Posts: 1,237
Website

Re: making 32bit kernel see 4gigs+ of system memory?

AFIK, there is no problem with PAE as long as your hardware supports it. If your hardware doesn't, the kernel will not boot; this is why pae is not enabled by default. As an added bonus, PAE kernels can also be compiled with NX (NoExecute) support (a security feature).
See: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=40631


Steven [ web : git ]
GPG:  327B 20CE 21EA 68CF A7748675 7C92 3221 5899 410C
Do not email: honeypot@stebalien.com

Offline

#5 2010-06-13 20:18:21

iceman81
Member
From: Cambridge
Registered: 2007-07-25
Posts: 59
Website

Re: making 32bit kernel see 4gigs+ of system memory?

demian wrote:

There was a thread about PAE but i can't find it right now so I'll just ask here:

I chose not to use x86_64 for various reasons and I'm totally ok with 3 GB of RAM, but i wouldn't mind one GB more, if there were no real downsides to it.
So, would you recommend using PAE with 4 GB of RAM?

Regards,
demian

if (ram > 2Gb)
    goto 64bit;
else
    goto 32bit;

Offline

#6 2010-06-13 20:55:28

Dheart
Member
From: Sofia, Bulgaria
Registered: 2006-10-26
Posts: 956

Re: making 32bit kernel see 4gigs+ of system memory?

Since arch allows installing packages for other architectures, it's safe to install a 64bit kernel (there was a thread about it) on a pure 32bit system, since the kernel will interact just fine with the 32bit libs.


My victim you are meant to be
No, you cannot hide nor flee
You know what I'm looking for
Pleasure your torture, I will endure...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB